only help my unbelief


The 55-minute run playlist
March 5, 2009, 8:00 am
Filed under: Posts

I have gotten into somewhat of a routine with running, in that I go several times a week. I don’t always go on the same days, but most weeks I can go at least three times.

We live near an area that has lots of trails nestled back behind neighborhoods, and if you leave from our house and head out on a certain loop, it’s about 3.6 miles total. I always walk the first .3 miles and last .3 miles because our neighborhood has a huge hill. That takes about 10 minutes. And so it takes me about 45 minutes to go the 3 miles, but that’s mostly because 1) I’m still getting back into shape, 2) I can’t run the whole way and 3) there are tons of hills.

But I pretty consistently take between 50 and 55 minutes to do it, and so I decided I’d put together a playlist just for those runs, so that I could look forward to some of my favorite songs. This means my favorite songs are toward the end, and some of the more motivating ones are toward the beginning or in the middle where the run is difficult.

My first time trying out the playlist I made was OK, but when I got home I realized I wanted to take a few songs out and switch some songs around. Now, I think, I have the perfect playlist of my favorite music that is just long enough to get me home, with pump-me-up tunes in all the right places.

1. Vida la Vida – Coldplay
This one’s great for my speed walking warm-up through my neighborhood. It’s catchy, not too fast, and I really like it.

2. Go All the Way (Into the Twilight) – Perry Farrell
This is from the Twilight soundtrack, and as dumb as it sounds, the movie actually had some pretty good songs (as you’ll see later). By the time I get to the start of where I run, this one has come on, and it has a fast beat that’s great for the first big hill I have to run up.

3. Feel Good, Inc. – Gorillaz
This is an old favorite running song. Somehow, even after five years of listening to it on runs, I’m not sick of it. Even if I’m running slow, when this one comes on, I start running faster.

4. Full Moon – The Black Ghosts
Another one from the Twilight soundtrack. It comes on when one of the guys in the movie who eventually turns out to be a werewolf comes out. By this time I’m back in the woods and so it makes me think of werewolves running around in the woods. I only run in the day so it’s not as scary as it sounds.

5. Suckerpunch – Five Iron Frenzy
I’ve liked this song since the beginning of high school, and it’s another good one for punching through a rough stretch of a run. At this point I’m still plugging away through the wooded trails.

6. Superman – Sister Hazel
Probably one of my favorite SH songs. I always smile when it comes on.

7. Dead Man (Carry Me) – Jars of Clay
This one starts right before I start to go up an enormous hill. The title is fitting.

8. Tremble for My Beloved – Collective Soul
For a while, I was just running to the Twilight soundtrack, and this one always came on during a long stretch after running up the huge hill I just mentioned, so I stuck it in a place where it would come on at the same point.

9. Hey Ya! – Outkast
Another one of my favorite running songs. I actually stopped to walk when this one came on, but I’m hoping to get to the point where I can run through all of it.

10. I Caught Myself – Paramore
Another Twilight song. Catchy.

11. Follow You Down – Gin Blossoms
This is one of Christian’s favorite bands, and it comes on when I start running the last mile. I don’t want to go too fast, because I want to finish strong, so it’s the perfect tempo.

12. Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It) – Beyonce
I know I’m not a single lady, and, as Christian reminds me, he already “put a ring on it,” but this song is still super fun to run to. It comes on when I get back out to the main road and have to run up yet another hill.

13. Supermassive Black Hole – Muse
My favorite song on the Twilight soundtrack, and my favorite song on this playlist. I have it set to start playing right at the very end of the run when I’m climbing the last hill. It’s perfect for motivating me to sprint toward the finish.

14. Spotlight (Twilight Mix) – Mute Math
As I think you figured out, I really like the Twilight soundtrack. This one fits in perfectly at the end as I’m walking back home.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment