only help my unbelief


61 days
February 16, 2009, 10:59 am
Filed under: Posts

About six weeks ago I looked at my calendar and realized that if I wanted to make sure I didn’t pull my hair out in the weeks right before the wedding, I needed to get a certain amount of things done before a certain date. I picked February 21, because that was the day of my friend Emily’s bridal shower, which marked the beginning of 8 solid weekends of something wedding-related.

Today is February 16. I have done maybe half the things on my list, and I’ve really only done the relatively easy things.

In another life, I would already be well on my way to freaking out. I’m not freaking out today, but I can see the freak out train coming slowly toward me. I’d give it less than a week.

I’m not really sure how to get it all done, honestly. Nobody can go pick out my shoes for me. Nobody can figure out what size ring Christian wears.I know that the wedding isn’t a big deal, but it is a deal, I think, and I want our guests to feel welcome and appreciated, and I want everyone to have a really good time.

At the end of every service at our church, our pastor does the same benediction. Sometimes I’m rarely paying attention, thinking about what’s going on after we leave and who I need to talk to. But yesterday, after the morning service and the vesper service, I could only rest in the solid words of God, because there really isn’t any other option.

And to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly beyond all that you could ask or think…

In other news, the “wedding workouts”  plan is not going remarkably well. It was going really, really well, but now I’ve not only started not losing weight, but I’ve started gaining weight. This is probably because I’ve been eating an extraordinary amount of Coke, cookies and ice cream.

Today I’m hoping to go for a walk with Betsy, and I also want to go for a run this afternoon. My goal for the rest of the week is to walk Tuesday and Wednesday as well, and then to go for a nice long run on Friday and maybe Saturday. That’s five days of exercise, and I think I can do it. Also: no sweets, no Coke.

One more time.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Chelsey, have you and Christian tried out Nica Sweeney? The Sweeneys are a family at First Pres (Mr. Sweeney works at the law firm Sweeney, Wingate and Barrow here in town). Anyways, Nica is a really sweet lady, and loves to help out young couples. She can get really booked up though, so you would need to get in touch with her ASAP. And be honest with her about your price range…she’s very willing to help. There is no way I could have afforded the wedding band I got for Vanessa, but she was willing to take a huge loss so I could buy it. Her # is 803-787-1765.

Comment by Hart Traylor




Leave a Reply

