only help my unbelief


68 days
February 9, 2009, 3:00 pm
Filed under: Posts

I’ve been getting such sweet and encouraging comments here over the past couple weeks, and I really appreciate them. I don’t really know why I haven’t been setting aside time to write more, but it’s just hard. Every couple days I think about something I want to write about – just to get it out of my head, not necessarily to impress anyone – but it just doesn’t happen. Last week I babysit 8-10 hours four days in a row, and by Friday I was ready to just chill out. Saturday was wedding-related all the way around, with my maid-of-honor, Sam, in town for the weekend for another wedding. Then yesterday was church, of course, along with our first session of pre-marital counseling and a surprise birthday party for a sweet friend after the vesper service. I think maybe being thankful for Monday morning is a sad thing.

*****

Speaking of weddings, ours is 68 days away, which is just under 10 weeks. April 18 seems far away, but when you look at the calendar, it actually doesn’t seem far away at all. Especially considering I’ve got two weddings and at least four wedding showers to go to between now and April 18. I know that everyone always says that after college everyone gets married, but I didn’t know that was actually true.

*****

An easy recipe for a Monday night: Cook one pound of smallish pasta. Saute one pound ground beef, one onion and one clove garlic. Drain, then add one jar spaghetti sauce and one can mushrooms (drained). Let simmer, covered, for 20 minutes. Spoon a little bit of sauce in 13×9 pan. Place half of pasta over it. Spoon half of remaining sauce over pasta, then spread with sour cream, then spread with 8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese. Place other half of pasta over top, then top with remaining sauce and 8 oz. shredded mozzarella. Cook covered with foil in oven for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Then take foil off for the cheese to brown. The result: The cheesiest, heartiest, creamiest pasta I’ve ever eaten.

*****

The wedding industry is my least favorite industry in the entire world of industries. My other least favorites include the industry of expensive car repairs, the industry of jeans that never fit right and the industry of sleazy Facebook advertising.

*****

I’ve got 5-ish pounds left to lose before the wedding, and while I’m glad to be so close to my goal with almost 10 weeks to meet it, I don’t feel like I really look that much different, and I also am finding that my resolve not to eat things that are bad for me is getting much weaker. Before it was: No soft drinks. Then it was: One soft drink a week. Now it’s: One soft drink a week, except wait, oh yeah, I just had one a couple days ago. I just have a hard time resisting a cold Coke in a can. I don’t know what it is.

*****

I have sweet friends, whom I love dearly. The end.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

