only help my unbelief


74 days
February 3, 2009, 11:12 am
Filed under: Posts | Tags:

I had this grand idea yesterday where I would blog every day for the remaining 75 days until the wedding, and so I began my grand idea by not blogging.

So here we are with 74 days to go. 74 is not a nice, round number. It’s almost a prime number, in that the only numbers it is divisible by is 2 or 37. (On that note, last week on Jeopardy,  there was a category called “Pick the Prime” where you had to pick the prime number out of a group of 3 numbers. I nailed it. I wish there were more categories like that and less categories about not-so-famous philosophers and authors.)

I’ve learned that wedding planning is actually only as complicated as you make it. By that I mean that if you want to spend thousands of dollars, then you can. But if you don’t want to, you don’t have to.

It is hard, though. Not the planning – the waking up one morning and thinking, “WILL EVERYONE HATE ME BECAUSE I DIDN’T WRITE THEIR NAMES AND ADDRESSES IN CURSIVE ON THE INVITATIONS!?!?!!?!?!” I generally fret about this for a minute or two, and then realize that anyone who is offended maybe shouldn’t have gotten an invitation from me in the first place, because I try to surround myself only with people who think that my handwriting is neat and tidy and perfectly acceptable for wedding invitations.

The other hard part is dealing with people who seem to think that planning a wedding must be complicated. Someone came up to me at church a few weeks ago and asked how it was going. I said it was fine, that we were keeping things simple. “Yes, but it’s still so complicated!” At first I wanted to chuckle, but then I wanted to FREAK OUT. Maybe I had forgotten something huge?

Side note: I laughed out loud during The Office special after the Super Bowl when Michael said, “I knew exactly what to do, but in a very real sense, I had no idea what to do.” This epitomizes wedding planning for me.

I’ve finally come to the conclusion that a wedding is nothing more than this: A worship service followed by a party. The worship service part is easy:  All we have to do is pick out music. The wedding director tells us when to go down the aisle. Also, we have to wear somewhat dressy clothes. The party is a bit harder, but all you really need is food. And people don’t really care where the food came from, as long as it tastes good. Well, they might care, but they don’t have to know where it came from, so as long as you’re subtle about it, you can even make it yourself.

That’s really all it is. If you start with that framework and work up from there, it is surprisingly easy. On the other hand, if you begin under the premise that a wedding is where you have to prove something to everyone you’ve ever known, or where you have to make sure absolutely no one gets offended, even for silly things, or where if you don’t spend a certain amount of money it doesn’t count, then, well, good luck.

It probably also helps that my standards are incredibly low. Honestly, why can’t I wear my Rainbows when I walk down the aisle?

Oh, and I may or may not blog any of the next 73 days. Just sayin’.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Chelsey I think you have lovely and neat handwriting, I don’t think people will care that it wont be in cursive letters.

Comment by Rita M.

I remember being stressed as the wedding neared, and my mom told me that all that mattered was me, the husband, and the minister. As long as we were legally married at the end of the day, everything else was just a detail. That really put things into perspective for me. So what if the dj’s music disappeared from his computer and we forgot to set out the groom’s cake. Those are things I barely remember 5 years later. It will be a beautiful day. And it will be the beauty that you remember.

Comment by questionsfordessert




Leave a Reply

