only help my unbelief


In Which Everyone Thinks I’m Crazy [Love and Limeade Slushes V]
January 22, 2009, 8:00 am
Filed under: Posts

Every week until we get married, I’ll be posting a short installment of the story of me and Christian. They’ll all be compiled at Love and Limeade Slushes as I write them.

As I had expected,explaining who Christian was to my friends and my parents was not exactly the most fun thing I’ve ever done. Though they didn’t tell me then, two of my friends thought it was pretty much the dumbest idea I’d ever had.

Two days before I left, I got a package in the mail from Christian. Inside were two mix CDs, each with a personal note from him.

On “The Fast Mix”:

Ahh.. the mix CD. Such an integral part of any true friendship. And, since you and I are clearly friends now, I decided I’d let you in on more of who I am. I think a lot can be said about a person by going through their CD collection, so I’ve tried to give a good survey of what I listen to for “fast songs.” I hope these will bear you well as you journey on toward the Mountain. So hurry up and get here! (And rock out in the process!)

On “The Mellow Mix”:

Continuing with the theme of  awesome music – this just might be the best CD ever. I’m just going to throw that out there. In all seriousness, this is a mix of some of my favorite songs by my favorite artsts. I’m excited to share them with you. Just remember as you’re cruising along in the rain (or if you just want to keep listening to great music) that every song on this CD has meant a lot to me in my walk with Christ. I have prayed and cried along with these songs more than any others.

(In case you were wondering, the first song on “The Fast Mix” was “Since U Been Gone” by Kelly Clarkson. I think that says a lot about Christian’s confidence as a man.)

In addition to the CDs were seven sheets of notebook paper, filled front and back. He hadn’t beaten my record, but he had come close. I probably read that letter eight times when I first opened it, half laughing and half crying. I read it to my roommates. I read it again. At the end of the letter, he said, “I think this is the start of an exciting adventure.”

We had no idea.

And so, on April 6, I popped the first CD into my car’s CD player and began the 400-mile journey to Sewanee, Tennessee.

North of Atlanta, I called him on the phone to tell him that I would be about two more hours. It was the first time I heard his voice.

I don’t remember what all was said, except I sounded like a complete idiot. After hanging up, I wondered if it was too late to turn around and go back home.

But I pressed on through the beautiful mountains of north Georgia and east Tennessee.

When I got into Sewanee, I called him again because I couldn’t find the house where he lived. He saw me drive by and so talked me through turning around and finding him. He was standing in the front yard wearing jeans, Birkenstocks and a short-sleeved button-up shirt that was red, white and blue plaid. A shirt we forever referred to as “the Grandpa shirt.”

I had been wearing my flip-flops in South Carolina, but it was cooler in Tennessee, so after I parked my car I had to find my other shoes and put them on. Christian wondered if I would ever get out of the car.

Shoes firmly on, I said a quick prayer and opened the door. I walked across the driveway to where Christian stood.

Three seconds of awkward silence. Then, he spoke:

“How about an awkward Christian side-hug?”

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So I read this blog post this morning, then a friend of mine posted a link to this shirt this afternoon. I thought you would appreciate it!
http://www.cafepress.com/scl.300951029#

Comment by Hdubs

Haha, that’s awesome. Thanks, Hart. 🙂

Comment by Chelsey




Leave a Reply

