only help my unbelief


The 2009 Book Challenge
January 2, 2009, 8:00 am
Filed under: Posts

After reading about how President Bush and Karl Rove competed to see who could read the most books in a year, Christian and I decided to follow suit.

Starting today, we’re challenging each other to finish the unread books on our bookshelves by seeing who can rack up the most titles before the end of 2009.

The guidelines are pretty simple.

  • Any book counts, unless, of course, it’s a book we read to the kids while babysitting
  • Fiction and non-fiction are both fair game
  • Books that were already started in 2008 are OK to finish

Due to guideline number 3, I’m now in the lead. We went to Barnes & Noble tonight, each armed with books that we had started several weeks ago, and I was able to finish mine. Christian had about 5 pages left in his, so I might get word tomorrow that we’re tied.

I may occasionally write short reviews of the books I’ve been reading, but I don’t want to bore you, so if you want to see where we’re at in the challenge, just check out the page in the sidebar.

And if you’re interested in joining the challenge with us, just let me know. We’re happy for other competitors.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hmm – don’t know if I can compete 🙂 but I think it’s something I can do with my wife and a few of our friends. Thanks for the literary inspiration.

Comment by Rick




Leave a Reply

