only help my unbelief


Weddings are complicated; or how Christian and I are planning to elope
December 5, 2008, 9:39 am
Filed under: Posts | Tags: ,

I should preface this, for those who don’t know me in person (and who have been fooled by my wiles), that am I not what you would consider a “girly girl.”

I’m not a tomboy by any means. I love wearing dresses and skirts, I like shopping, nail painting is fun, and I really do like the color pink. Which are, of course, quite girly things. I think.

But when it comes to weddings, I’m realizing how much of the un-girl I really am. Part of it is due to my tendency towards the practical, which sometimes turns itself around into something impractical. When Christian and I were driving back from Tennessee on Sunday, we had a great time writing down names for the guest list and picking out hymns we wanted to be sung or played at the wedding. This I enjoyed.

But then we went to try on dresses, and I realized that I’m not enough of a girl to really enjoy it. I didn’t cry. I just thought, “How many more of these will I have to try on before we find one that looks OK enough?” And then we really starting digging into the guest list, and I realized that while I’m all for getting the things that we’ve listed on our registry, I don’t want to have to send invitations to my mom’s college roommate whom I’ve never met.

And I had all these grand plans for making the invitations to save money and be somewhat unique. Then I remembered: I am not even kind of creative. I have an idea in my head, but I’m quite certain the execution of it will be difficult.

So, with all that said, I’m starting to be quite overwhelmed with the prospect of planning this wedding. I have a cute pink notebook with dividers and labels in it to keep everything organized (which I’m quite good at), but what to put it in? What color should my bridesmaids’ dresses be? Where should I order the cake? Who will cater? I guess every wedding I’ve been to is so well put together that it all seems seamless. I hope mine appears that way, and I don’t mind doing a lot of the grunt work, but at this point, I’m not even sure where to start.

As I told someone on Facebook the other day, I’m kind of just hoping maybe my fairy godmother will show up soon. Any day now, surely.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

don’t let it intimidate you! it is A LOT to think about, i know but it is so worth it. you may that it won’t be worth all of the work when you get there, but i still remember every little detail and it is so special to me. when people ask to help you–they mean it, and LET them!! we made our invitations and they were very simple and classy. i used artificial flowers for bouquets & arrangements, used mostly candles for decor, and bought pre-made hors d’oeuvres from sams and had voluenteers who helped prepare and keep the table stocked.
basically, don’t sweat the details and be sure to enjoy it. i will be praying for y’all as you work through all of this!

Comment by Sarah McGalliard

This is the fun part, in some ways, if you’re a thifty person. I had it easy with the dress, my mom made mine. So, even though my marriage didn’t pass the test, I’ll always have the last clothing my mom made. For cakes, I suggest Publix. Mom decorated mine with some real roses, and it was beautiful. The cake was yummy, too.

As for bridesmaid’s dresses, I have half a dozen and I’ve never worn any twice, so pick what you like, so long as you don’t force the poor ladies to wear bows on their rears. No one really like that, once they’re older than about 8!

I’m so happy for you. I’d love to help in any way you can think of.

Comment by Carrie

I completely understand your inclination towards the practical. We’d come upon some “major” wedding decision, and I just wanted to say, “Does it really matter if we have matching tableclothes or not???” But stick to it! After getting to marry my best friend in the whole world and having all my friends and family there to worship with me, getting to see all the details of my hard work come together in a beautiful way was my favorite part of the day (even though I hardly noticed).

Best practical advice: make sure you have a really good coordinator for the day of the wedding; Stacy took so much stress off my shoulders.

Best overall advice: at the end of it all, you’ll still be married.

Comment by Mary Catherine

Thanks, ladies. I am so encouraged by all of the sweet and kind advice everyone has been sharing. Somehow just blogging about it and reading your comments makes the burden easier to bear! 🙂

Comment by CLK




Leave a Reply

