only help my unbelief


Drifting off
December 3, 2008, 9:06 am
Filed under: Posts | Tags: ,

Last night, as I crawled into bed, I grabbed my pocket ESV and opened to 1 John.

I reviewed the verse I memorized yesterday.

Beloved, I am writing you no new commandment, but an old commandment that you had from the beginning. The old commandment is the word that you have heard.

Got it. Good. Now on to the new verse.

At the same time, it is a new commandment I am writing to you…

I tried to say it with inflection so I’d remember it.

which is true in him and in you…

Not too hard.

…because the darkness is passing away, and the true light is already shining.

Somehow I already knew that part, probably from the early days of being homeschooled, when my mom would make us memorize a passage of Scripture every month.

I said those two verses (1 John 2:7-8) together a few times to make sure I had them. I put my Bible on my bookshelf, pulled the covers up and turned off the lights.

I closed my eyes and started at 1 John 1:1, intending to say everything up to what I practiced before I went to bed.

Sometime around 1 John 1:6, I guess I fell asleep, because when I woke up this morning, the first thing on my mind were those verses.

I can’t think of a better way to fall asleep.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

