only help my unbelief


Enfranchised
November 4, 2008, 6:37 pm
Filed under: Posts | Tags: ,

For the last several months, I’ve felt largely apathetic about the election. I knew I didn’t like one candidate, and I knew I really didn’t like the other candidate.

Disclosure: I voted for Ron Paul in the primary.

Once John McCain clinched his party’s nomination, I felt disillusioned. But then he chose Sarah Palin, and I was encouraged. Then a few more weeks and the disillusionment came back.

I considered voting third party.

In the last month or so, though, I started hearing all these people bring up abortion on both sides. I’ve always been against abortion, and that was my primary reason for NOT voting for Obama, but was it a good enough reason to vote for McCain?

I decided it was. If only because a vote for McCain may mean that Obama wouldn’t be president.

And so I’ve been content in that decision in the Lord.

This morning I woke up and got on Facebook. And all of a sudden all my apathy regarding this election dissipated. Immediately. A quick review of recent statuses showed a number of people “donating” their statutes to a particular candidate.

I know a lot of people, many of whom I wasn’t surprised to see supporting Obama. And many who I wasn’t surprised to see voting McCain. There was not a single person who was supporting McCain who I was surprised to see. But as I looked over names, my heart shattered into a million tiny pieces.

I don’t know that I’ve ever felt such deep anguish about something that was so much outside of me. It’s not really my business who other people vote for, in a sense. It’s between them and God. But there were so many people on my friends list who say they are Christians who said they were supporting Barack Obama.

I’m not saying that if you support Obama that you’re not a Christian.

I’m also not saying that if you voted third party that you wasted your vote.

Instead, I’m asking a question.

How can a Christian, as much as they dislike John McCain, vote for someone who wants to enact laws that would end up killing more children through abortion than are already being killed?

I’ve been thinking about this all day, sometimes to the point of tears, and I still don’t understand.

I feel like Christians all around me are falling more and more into moral relativism, and they don’t even seem to notice what’s going on. And I’m tired of people saying that there are no absolutes. There are. There is right, and there is wrong, and abortion is wrong.

The more we disregard absolutes, the less we have to stand on.

I can only pray that this election does not turn into a modern-day re-telling of the story of the foolish man who built his house on the sand.

Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock. And everyone who hears these words of mine and does not do them will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell, and great was the fall of it. – Matthew 7:24-27

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this is what i gotta say to you… in your bible it says to stone children that disobey…. very f***** christian huh!

[edited by Chelsey to bleep out offensive word]

Comment by Ted

I don’t think it’s (necessarily) about moral relativism. I used to be like you, but now I’m trying to see many more than one issue when I vote for a leader who oversees so many things. Yes, abortion is wrong. It’s not the only thing that’s wrong, though.

Comment by wordlily

Wordlily, I agree that the president does oversee more than just abortion. But if the president isn’t willing to defend the completely defenseless, whom else will he not defend?

It’s not the only issue by any means, just like slavery wasn’t the only issue during the 1860s. But it is an extremely tragic issue, and one that causes more death than any other policy a president can support.

As I said. I’m not doubting anyone’s salvation if they voted for Obama, but I do wish I better understood the reasoning.

Comment by Chelsey

Are you serious?

Comment by Huh?

Thank you for expressing your thoughts on this issue. I think you very clearly stated what many feel and see at times like these.

Hope you are doing well! I must admit I miss your other blog, but probably only because I enjoyed publishing vicariously šŸ˜‰

Comment by Mary Catherine

I miss my other blog, too. But since I’ve stopped posting on it, I’ve had so
much more time to do the things that really are satisfying – spend time with
my family, read, etc. šŸ™‚ Maybe one day it will be back!

Comment by Chelsey

I completely agree with your reasoning for supporting McCain/Palin. It’s pretty much the same thought pattern I went through. Also, I had the same reaction when I got on facebook and saw all of the Obama statuses.

Comment by Sarah McGalliard

Here are my thoughts…it’s kind of a lot, but I’ll try and keep it short.
What has saddened me most is how blind so many Christians have become towards the issue of abortion. We need to put abortion into perspective…it’s murder.

Ok, so I can logically understand the argument for abortion by those who believe babies in the womb are not yet human…because they realize that if they believed at conception that baby is human, an abortion is murder….(of course I think these people are terribly wrong in their belief that a baby while in the womb is not human)….but at least there is logic in their thinking.

But I’ve been so angered by so many Christians this election season and their view on abortion. They agree that abortion is wrong (although you rarely hear from many of them that it’s murder…it’s just wrong), but you’ll hear some lame excuse like this: “America clearly does not want to be Christian anymore, therefore we can no longer enforce our Christian beliefs on America.” Well, I can understand, and would even agree with that argument in regards to issues like the Sabbath, or even “bigger” issues like homosexuality. But the right to murder? I would have to argue that those Christians must not believe that human life begins at conception, because if they did, then they would truly recognize that abortion is murder, and someone who has been saved by the blood of Christ would have the wisdom to see that you can never support anyone who supports the murder of anyone.

Anyways, I’m at work and typing really fast so I don’t know if I’m hashing this out really well. But hopefully y’all get my gist.

On another note: although I voted for McCain, I have to admit I’m excited about Obama. Why, you ask? Well, honestly I really believe God is beginning to place America on the age of a real revival. But I think America is going to have to go through more darkness before finally being pushed into this reformation. Honestly, McCain didn’t appear like the kind of guy who would step into office and make lots of changes. I think if McCain had been elected, America would not have declined, but definitely would not have gone back up…probably just stayed the same the next 4 or 8 years. So, we would have just stayed on the fence with him. But I really believe that God has raised Obama up (and for those of you who didn’t know this…God is so powerful He can raise up unbelievers and can even use them to bring about His will), and under the leadership of Obama we’re about to be led even deeper into darkness. And guess what? As we go deeper and deeper into darkness, people are going to start to see that Obama (or any man) can’t bring the change they truly desire/or need. And I really believe God will unleash the hounds of Heaven, and a revival will sweep through this land.

We Christians need to be praying for this revival. We need to be praying that God will prepare us for that day. But that doesn’t mean we forget about our president. We need to pray for Obama…pray for his salvation…pray for Heavenly wisdom.

Sorry that was long, but I’m so stinkin excited about what God is getting ready to do in our country! It’s going to be tough probably for awhile, but let’s keep pressing on!

Comment by Hdubs

I don’t understand how abortion can the one issue voters can’t cross lines for. I agree – abortion is killing. I would love to see abortion end. If Roe v. Wade were to be repealed (which I don’t think it would be any time soon, even if John McCain was elected), this would not stop abortions from happening, except they would be done more dangerously. The issues CAUSING it need to be addressed, which Obama has spoken about previously. People need to be better educated to keep unwanted pregnancies from happening. Abstinence-only education has been proven ineffective. And while I don’t support abortion, what about in cases of rape or the mother’s life is in danger? There are a lot of issues this country faces, including wars that are killing human beings that are no longer in the womb. I understand that abortion is an important issue, but there are a lot of other ones that are focused on helping people who need it, which is what I think Christianity is actually about.

Comment by Anonymous

In response to Anonymous:

First, the reason why Abstinence-only hasn’t been working is because 1) it’s no longer taught, 2) along side it not being taught is the teaching of safe sex; so they’re giving mixed messages to the kids who might have heard about abstinence and 3) and most importantly, God is left out of the picture. Parents no longer teach their kids that sex outside of marriage (that is 1 man and 1 woman) is sinful.

Second, not to be rude, but people die during wars. That’s a sad truth about them. Furthermore, because we live in a fallen world, wars happen (sometimes justly, sometimes unjustly).

Third, most abortions are done by selfish people. They’re young kids who don’t want mom and dad finding out they’re having sex, or they’re young couples who don’t want the burden of a child. As for rape, the child could be put up for adoption (and before someone says “but we have orphanages filled with kids needing to be adopted”…well more than likely you’re making that argument for the sake or arguing. But if that really is a concern of yours, then please prayerfully consider adopting). As for a mother’s life in danger, a good Dr. should have the wisdom to know if the mother’s life is in danger…if it is, and there is no way of having the mother and baby both live, then the call can be made.

Comment by hhtraylor

Chelsey,
I am a Christian. I voted for Obama.

My reasoning is this…Abortion is already legal, whether I like it or not (and, for the record, I don’t like it). This happened far before I was able to vote. At this point,there is nothing I can do about that. Therefore, I can’t base my vote on that subject. I feel that, as a country, we made a good choice. I truly do believe that President Elect Obama will do what needs to be done to get this country back on track. When you look at his other plans, they will positively affect many other people who, at this time, are vulnerable. We need to look at the big picture, not just what we see through pinholes.

Comment by Shawna

Chelsey-Shawna, you could have done something about it. That is, you could have voted for a pro-life candidate who would nominate supreme court justices who would most likely vote in favor of overturning roe v.wade. it is because of votes like yours that the pro-life cause has been set back 30 years.

Chelsey, good thoughts. You are right-Christians are become more and more influenced by moral relativism.

Comment by jeremy




Leave a Reply

