only help my unbelief


A thing to be loved
September 17, 2008, 8:00 am
Filed under: Posts

When you wake up one morning to work out at 5:30 a.m., and you wake up the next morning hardly able to walk because your legs are so sore, you start to wonder if it’s worth it.

And you end up deciding it is worth it, but you don’t want to do anything to ruin all your hard work.

For me, that means watching what I eat. Which is hard. Because while I’m not a glutton, I do enjoy things that taste good.

Take last night for instance. Somehow my dad managed to get 5 pounds of fresh shrimp from someone he works with. He brought it home, he and my mom peeled it, and then he cooked half of it in a wine and butter sauce and grilled the rest on skewers, soaking them in lime and garlic.

Ummm. The shrimp was delicious. I could have eaten all 5 pounds.

I believe that as a Christian, we’re not to be slaves to anything – especially food. But I’ve always thought that different people look at food in different ways. My mom can eat a pretty boring salad every day for lunch and not get tired of it. I can’t. It drives me nuts.

And finally, I ran across someone who understands what I’m talking about. Over at Get Fit Slowly, J.D. says,

“I think there are three types of people… There are those for whom food is an experience, a thing to be loved. I’m one of those. For another type of person, food is merely nourishment, a source of calories. And a third type doesn’t notice food at all.”

Yes, J.D. You have hit the nail on the head. Food is an experience for me. I love to cook, and I love to taste things that just look delicious. I’m being careful now because the scale awaits me every day, but I don’t think that I’ll ever stop seeing food as a thing to be loved.

Photo by Gaetan Lee
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Food also gives us a great lesson in how unfair life can seem.

I know people who can eat three times as much as I can and stay slim. I eat moderately but can’t get down to the size I’d like.

In the end we can’t compare ourselves to others with different physiologies, we simply need to be true to who and what we are as created by God.

Comment by Rodney Olsen




Leave a Reply

