only help my unbelief


Sometimes motivation doesn’t come so easily
August 25, 2008, 1:50 pm
Filed under: Posts

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog for long, you probably wondered where I was over the weekend. I had a record of posting every day for almost three months, but life got in the way Friday, keeping me from my streak.

I found out Friday that I didn’t get the job I had applied for the week before. I spent the weekend with my family and Christian, enjoying their company and the Lord’s day and trying not to think about the fact that I don’t have a job. This morning, I woke up and set to work making phone calls, writing e-mails and going through job databases.

It’s wearisome, and each cover letter I write has to be bathed in prayer before I can finish it, because otherwise I just don’t have the strength.

I don’t know how much I’ll be posting over the next couple weeks. I’m putting all my energy into the job search, and what’s left is going toward babysitting for several sweet families who have me at the top of their sitter lists until I find a job.

I read this passage from Psalm 4 yesterday, and since I don’t have any wise words, I must look to God’s Word for all of my motivation:

Be angry, and do not sin.
Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still.
Offer the sacrifices of righteousness,
And put your trust in the LORD.
“There are many who say,
Who will show us any good?”
LORD, lift up the light of Your countenance upon us.
You have put gladness in my heart,
More than in the season that their grain and wine increased.
I will both lie down in peace, and sleep;
For You alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That’s one of my favorite psalms.

Comment by Kyle Hatchett




Leave a Reply

