only help my unbelief


Movie review: I, Robot
August 19, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

I’m pretty easy to please when it comes to movies. And Christian tends to be a much harsher critic than me.

But on this one, the tables turned. Christian liked it more than he thought he would; I liked it less than I expected.

The premise is similar to one of star Will Smith’s other movies, I am Legend (which I loved). But in this one, he lives in a world of robots with millions of humans who trust the robots implicitly. Smith’s character, Detective Spooner, doesn’t trust the robots and thinks they’re out to get him.

After the renowned scientist at the leading producer of robots apparently commits suicide, Spooner is called to investigate. He is immediately suspicious, especially when he discovers a robot in the room where the scientist last was.

The rest of the movie is full of twists and turns as Spooner tries to find out why the scientist died and who killed him.

It’s an action movie with the token car chase (which is actually terrifying, since Smith’s character is being chased by robots). There is very little blood (since most of those suffering are made of metal), but there is a fair amount of violence and suspenseful scenes.

That said, what should have been the most suspenseful scene had me losing my interest. I found myself petting the dog and chatting with one of my sisters, really not caring so much how the movie ended.

And that’s about all I have to say about the movie. It wasn’t a bad movie, but it wasn’t that great either.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

