only help my unbelief


Weekend update
August 16, 2008, 10:40 am
Filed under: Posts

Well, the Smashing Pumpkins concert was… interesting. We left early, which I was surprised about. I’m not opposed to doing that sort of thing, but Christian is the king of Follow Through. He does not stop things early. He literally cannot watch stopping a TV show until it’s a commercial break. Me, my loyalties are shallow.

Anyway, I think the Smashing Pumpkins are past their prime. Not only was it not musically thrilling at all, but it was loud. And shrieky. And everyone around us was insane.

At one point I looked over at Christian.

“I think we’re getting old,” I said.

And so, after sitting through 2 hours of whatever it was, we slipped out and headed to Steak ‘n Shake. Which was infinitely better than the concert. We did our usual – each got a melt/burger that we liked, and split it in half so we could try the other person’s. We both like the same things, so it always works out well.

We got home late, and poor Christian had to get up this morning to work overtime at 8 a.m. I think maybe the most fun was just talking on the car ride there and back. So… yes. My first rock concert experience was a bit of a letdown.

Ah well.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’ve only been to a few concerts that didn’t feature explicitly Christian bands, and those were of classic rock bands (besides the Spice Girls years ago, and I promise I only went because my sister liked them…..for real, that was totally not my idea…..I promise…..). Classic rock concerts are the best, because the audience, as well as the band, are past their prime, but still think they’re living in the ’70’s. They can sometimes be more entertaining than the band. I loved the Sammy Hagar concert I saw, even though I have no intention of ever buying one of his albums. Lynyrd Skynyrd was good, though.

Comment by Kyle Hatchett




Leave a Reply

