only help my unbelief


Righteousness or morals?
August 14, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

This is a guest post by Lindsay, who designed my blog header. She posted it on Facebook a few weeks ago and I asked if I could post it on my blog. I think it’s not only an important message, but it also exemplifies what my blog is all about – seeking God and His truth as a 20-something Christian in this increasingly postmodern world.

“Since they did not know the righteousness that comes from God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God’s righteousness. Christ is the end of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes.” -Romans 10:3-4

In the past couple months I have had an obvious mental disconnect, if you will, when people use the word “morals.” Every time I hear it I get suspicious and question the thought process people have when they refer to themselves or me as having morals.

When the word morals is used, I think there is often an overtone of praise for man and his “righteousness” rather than praise for God. In God’s eyes, you either have the righteousness of Jesus or you have no righteousness at all. Someone who isn’t a Christian may have “morals” they muster up by pride without a heart change and without the joy of God’s glory and grace. These works are self-seeking, ephemeral and reap a hollow life.

The truth is, although I may indeed have “morals,” I cannot do anything good of my own accord. I really just have Jesus, his grace given to me through his death on the cross and the hope I have from his resurrection.

Biblically, we should not esteem ourselves. For “there is no one righteous, not even one (Romans 3:10).” We should only esteem Christ for bearing our sin and imputing his righteousness to us. “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21).

“…know that a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by observing the law, because by observing the law no one will be justified (Galatians 2:16).”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

