only help my unbelief


Movie review: There Will Be Blood
August 12, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

As I’ve said before about our Netflix queue, Christian and I try to switch up which movies we watch. First there was an independent film, then a historical one, then a fantasy film. Christian had mentioned There Will Be Blood as something he really wanted to see, and since we hadn’t really watched a movie like it yet, we moved it to the top of the queue.

In case you haven’t heard about the movie and couldn’t tell by the title – ladies, this is not a chick flick. I don’t know what the opposite of a chick flick is, but if there’s no name for it, I propose the title There-Will-Be-Blood flick. Because this movie epitomizes manhood.

So basically, yeah, it’s violent. It’s bloody. And it’s about men pumping oil, hoping to earn a living, but dying in the process.

Daniel Day-Lewis is the title character, Daniel Plainview, who is an ‘oilman.’ He has an adopted son named H.W. (who doesn’t know he’s adopted), and he and his son traverse the western United States looking for places to buy land and prospect oil.

Honestly, the movie doesn’t have much in the way of a plot, but there is enough action to keep it interesting. I thought the most compelling part was between Plainview and the pastor in the small town where he’s prospecting. The pastor, Eli Sunday, is a charismatic figure who oversees the Church of the Third Revelation. Most of the town is in awe of him, but Plainview is not. Sunday takes this as a direct challenge, which annoys Plainview, and so a majority of the movie focuses on their relationship.

The ending the movie is bizarre. It’s not out of sync with the rest of the movie, but you kind of wish you could see more.

I think I liked the movie. I’m not sure I could really say so for sure until I see it again, which I’m not planning on doing. It was a little too violent for me, and again, it didn’t really have a plot. However, the historical aspect of the movie did appeal to me, and would probably appeal to anyone who is interested in the time period.

So do I recommend it? I’m gonna go neutral on this one. Deal with it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

