only help my unbelief


Ask the readers: Do you care about the Christmas party?
August 8, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

I’m unofficially ending my Moving Home series, mostly because it’s been a week and you’re probably tired of it. I’m going to post before and after pictures of my room, but there is as of yet no ‘after,’ so you’ll have to wait.

And I’ve actually partaken in fitness this week, but I’m going to wait until next week to resume Fitness Friday.

Today, for something totally different, I need you to do two things. First, read the following vignette:

If she were to make a list of things to do, like she so often did, at the top would be: Don’t go to the Christmas party.

Of course, this list would have a title, like all good lists should. She’d call it ‘Number One Priority For Tonight,’ and it would have one item, delineated by a small dot: Don’t go to the Christmas party.

“El – are you going to come or not?” The voice from the other room was inviting – but clearly annoyed.

The lack of response, instead of making the voice forget she was there, instead resulted in the voice becoming larger-than-life in the person of Grace, positioned firmly in the door of Elianne’s room. “You said you would come.”

Elianne tried to act surprised as she looked over her shoulder. “I did? I thought I said I might come.”

Grace laughed. “Of course that’s what you think,” she said. “Just come. Please.”

Elianne was tempted to quickly jot down the list that heretofore only existed in her head, for written proof that her organizational skills would not allow her to go to the party.

“I just don’t want to go this time,” she said as confidently as she could. “Maybe next time.”

And that was when Grace knew she had passed the point of no return with El.

Grace left. Elianne turned back to her computer.

She shut it down, prepared to spend the rest of the night watching reruns of House.

Before she went to the living room, she pulled out a note card and wrote at the top: ‘Things I Did Today That I’ll Regret Later But Am Still Glad I Didn’t Do.’

One item: Didn’t go to the Christmas party.

OK, did you do it?

I’m going to trust you, even though I’m not a very trusting person. (But what other choice do I have?)

The second thing I need you to do is leave me a comment or send me an e-mail letting me know the answer to this question (and its follow-up question):

Do you want to find out why Elianne didn’t want to go to the Christmas party? If not, why not?

And for the overachievers: Why do you think Elianne didn’t want to go?

You guys are the best. Happy weekend!

Oh, wait!

There will be posts this weekend, but make sure you’re here Monday. I’ve got something super exciting to tell you about. Seriously.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well, I could say that I’d like to know why she didn’t go to the Christmas party, except for the fact that I already know why. See, Elianne is actually me 😀

Seriously though, I thought it was a wonderfully written piece and I’d love to read more. It makes me wonder if I’ll ever have time or inspiration to write again.

Comment by Mary Catherine

[…] on The new haircutCarrie on Life is good – not just a sloganMary Catherine on Ask the readers: Do you care about the Christmas party?letlightshine on Offending others or […]

Pingback by Because the Olympics are addicting… « Grace, grammar & good eats




Leave a Reply

