only help my unbelief


Chelsey’s life: An update
August 1, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

For a time, I was a psychology major in college, ultimately graduating with a minor in psychology (and a major in print journalism). I remember in my developmental psychology class looking at a list of events that are said to cause the most stress in one’s life. There are point values assigned to each one, so adding them all together shows the extent to which you may be very incredibly seriously stressed out. Some of the things are exciting – a new baby, for example – but still could cause a great deal of stress.

In the past three months, I’ve graduated from college, started a job, had my boyfriend move to the same town, pretty much ended a job, started another new job and moved. I’m pretty sure all of those were on the list of stressful life events.

For the past few days, I’ve felt remarkably like Edward Munch’s subject. Seriously, guys. He could have painted me.

That said, God is good. And He gives us our food in due season (Psalm 145). In this season, God is giving me a lot of food. And some of the food is kind of like… tomatoes. And we all know how much I love tomatoes.

In retrospect, that was a poor analogy, but I think you catch my drift.

Anyway, I think the Lord is bringing me up out of the valley, ’cause things are looking good.

For example:

* I got a job. This was a huge, enormous, explosive answer to prayer. I shouldn’t be surprised, and I’m not, but I am thankful. It is so amazing to know that God loves me and knows what’s best for me. And almost as amazing has been to hear the number of people say, upon finding out that I got a job, that they had been praying for me. The Church is a wonderful thing.

* I moved back home. After four years of living with roommates on my own, this is a big change. But as I carried stuff up to the room where I spent my wonder years of high school, I felt safe and loved and secure. I’m excited to see how it goes. More about this next week that you won’t want to miss.

* The job I have now is almost over. I’m going to miss copy editing, and I’m going to miss the people I work with. But I’m super excited about my new job as well.

* I’m about to get a haircut. OK, so this borders on mundane, but a list should have three things at least, and four seems more rounded. And since it takes me several months to decide that I do indeed want a haircut, this is big news. For me, anyway.

And if you’re wondering, the lack of a Fitness Friday post is because I am, indeed, not doing much in the way of fitness. But now that I’m back home and things are settling down, that should change. I hope.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

