only help my unbelief


Trusting God to do the best
July 30, 2008, 1:00 am
Filed under: Posts

This past Sunday I taught the lesson to my 3-year-olds because our regular teacher is out of town.

OK, they’re not really mine, but maybe if I claim them, the children’s director (who is on my top five list of favorite people in the entire world) won’t move them up to the next class at the end of the summer. Sigh.

The lesson was on Jonah, which was providential because I’m working on memorizing the book of Jonah.

Wait a second, Chelsey! I thought you were memorizing Romans!

I was.

I don’t know if you know this or not, but Jonah is considerably shorter than Romans. It only has 40-something verses.

In other words, I’m a wimp.

Seriously, though. Romans was discouraging me, and Jonah is one of my favorite books. I’m still in the first chapter, but it is going a lot better than Romans. I still want to tackle Romans, but maybe when I am more adept at memorizing entire books of the Bible.

Wow. I got completely off-track. What I was trying to say, was that I thought it was cool that I got to teach the story of Jonah, because I’m currently memorizing Jonah.

So.

I was preparing for the lesson last week, and the curriculum my church uses is just fabulous. They have a section called ‘Heart Preparation’ in the teachers’ guide, which basically talks about the lesson and actually provides a hefty dose of encouragement to the teacher.

For example, check out this little gem:

Just as Jonah was not a project too big for God to handle, neither are we, and neither are the toddlers in your class!

I’m sure that my co-helper, Lee, who reads my blog, will find that at least as encouraging as I did.

But it was a quote by C.S. Lewis that was included in this section that really penetrated my heart when I read it.

We are not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best will turn out to be.

How true that is. I know in my heart that God is sovereign. He has proven Himself so many times, and even if He hadn’t, the Bible makes it clear that God is in control of all things. So when I start to become anxious, it’s not really because I think God isn’t in control – it’s because I’m afraid of how He will control it.

Case in point: Me not having a job. I know that whatever God does in this situation is the best for me, but I’m just afraid that the best means (a) working in a fast-food restaurant or (b) not having a job for a season.

In case you were wondering, my sinful and selfish heart doesn’t see (a) or (b) as ideal.

I needed to read that quote to be reminded of how my heart works. Whether or not God’s plan seems best to me, and even if it is painful, it is all for my good and His glory.

And that, my friends, is what it’s all about.

If you read this the morning I posted it and are friends with me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, you’re probably slightly confused. I announced yesterday that I have, indeed, been offered a job! But I wrote this post late last week and scheduled it for this morning. Talk about an important lesson in not really knowing what God has in store in the future!

Photo by T. Keller
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

