only help my unbelief


Monday Motivation: What really matters
July 28, 2008, 1:00 am
Filed under: Posts

In my personal Bible study, I’m going through the book of Galatians. I just moved into chapter 5.

Side note: Tackling a shorter book in my personal time with the Lord has been really encouraging. I’ve been in Galatians for most of the month, and while I’m not going to get through the whole Bible this year, I’ll know when I finish that I’ll have studied an entire book of the Bible in-depth.

The last verse in the passage I read today was Galatians 5:6 –

For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision avails anything, but faith working through love.

Paul is writing to the Galatians about the Judaizers who were trying to convince them that they needed to be circumcised to be saved. Paul isn’t saying it’s bad if you’re circumcised, but he is saying that it’s not necessary for salvation.

And so he points them to what is necessary: faith working through love.

Paul really likes to write about this. Just a chapter later, you see Galatians 6:15 –

For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision avails anything, but a new creation.

It’s the same wording, but instead of ‘faith working through love,’ Paul says salvation means being a new creation – which only God can do (see John 6:44, 1 Corinthians 5, Romans 7).

When I study my Bible, I look up the cross references. For this verse, it pointed me to 1 Corinthians 7:19, which is the crux of what I hope God uses to motivate you at the beginning of your week in the marketplace –

Circumcision is nothing and uncircumcision is nothing, but keeping the commandments of God is what matters.

Friends, that’s what matters. You could take out circumcision and uncircumcision and change those words into whatever it is that has you captive and steals your joy. Is it legalism (thinking rules leads to righteousness)? Is it pleasing people? Is it obsession with self? Is it worry about the future?

As I struggle with not having a job and asking the Lord, “What do you want me to do?” this verse sounds back loud and clear.

Keep His commandments. I would say it’s ‘as simple as that,’ but obeying God isn’t always easy.

We have the Bible, though, holy words breathed out by the Maker of the universe, and if we just do what He asks, we don’t have to worry about all the other things that so often seem to matter.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks, Chelsey! I have been letting a lot of people and situations steal my joy lately!

Comment by Lee




Leave a Reply

