only help my unbelief


‘A devious repentance’
July 27, 2008, 1:00 am
Filed under: Posts

Every Sunday, I try to share something I didn’t write to encourage you as you celebrate the Lord’s day. I hope this selection encourages you in your walk with the Lord and helps you focus on Him on the Sabbath, HIS day. If you ever have questions about God or how you can have a relationship with Him, please e-mail me. I’d love to talk to you.

Recently I committed a sin of what seemed to me unpardonable thoughtlessness. For days I wanted to kick myself around the block. What is the matter with me? I thought. How could I have acted so? “Fret not thyself because of evildoers” came to mind. In this case the evildoer was myself, and I was fretting. My fretting, I discovered, was a subtle kind of pride. “I’m really not that sort of person,” I was saying. I did not want to be thought of as that sort of person. I was very sorry for what I had done, not primarily because I had failed someone I loved, but because my reputation would be smudged. When my reputation becomes my chief concern, my repentance has a hollow ring. No wonder Satan is called the deceiver. He has a thousand tricks, and we fall for them.

Lord, I confess my sin of thoughtlessness and my sin of pride. I pray for a more loving and a purer heart, for Jesus’ sake.

–taken from Gateway to Joy, a daily devotional by Elisabeth Elliott

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

