only help my unbelief


Fitness Friday: Or the lack thereof
July 25, 2008, 1:00 am
Filed under: Posts

From after the Cooper River Bridge Run, April 2006. We were just imitating the race.

I started the week with good intentions. But then Monday morning I had to drive to Camden. That took forever. And when I got back, I just didn’t feel like working out (primo excuse, I know).

But it was OK, because I was going to run with a friend Tuesday morning.

Then I had the worst night’s sleep on record Monday night. I slept from about 1:30 – 5 a.m., then couldn’t sleep anymore, so I just got up and did some stuff. But by 8 a.m., when I was supposed to go run, the lack of sleep had caught up with me.

Lauren was profoundly gracious, which was nice of her, but I pretty much just crashed for most of the day before I had to go to work. So no exercise Tuesday.

Wednesday I don’t normally exercise because I meet Christian for lunch and I don’t really have time or gas money to drive to the gym, come back home, shower, then go right back to meet him. So I thought maybe I’d just run down at the riverwalk.

But then I got off work extra late Tuesday night, and I was still catching up on sleep from the night before. So running at the riverwalk did not happen.

Thursday and today I finally mustered up the wherewithal (I have always wanted to use that word) to go to the gym. And it was hard, probably mostly because I hadn’t worked out since the previous Friday.

And if that isn’t enough of a reminder, I feel terribly guilty at my lack of motivation.

But.

Next week is a new week. It will be a crazy week, since I’m moving out of my apartment Thursday, but I think if I play it right and God gives me grace (which He always does – I just don’t always recognize it), this coming week can be better than this past week.

I sure hope so.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Just try not to beat yourself up too much. As Scarlett O’Hara said, “After all… tomorrow is another day.”

Comment by Jason Mitchener




Leave a Reply

