only help my unbelief


Good eats: Pizza toppings
July 22, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

A few weeks ago I showed you how I made pizza dough from scratch.

Today, I want to give you two healthy and delicious options for pizza toppings.

The first: Barbecue chicken pizza.

For this one, I used about 3/4 cup Kraft BBQ sauce in place of traditional red sauce. Instead of mozzarella, I shredded cheddar cheese and spread it (generously) over the sauce. I also used a small red onion, chopped. For the chicken, I just sliced up 1-2 chicken breasts and cooked them in a small frying pan on the stove before putting them on the pizza. While they were in the frying pan, I coated them heavily with Texas Pete hot sauce to give them some zing, but you could just as easily put more BBQ sauce on it or leave it plain.

Option #2: Veggie delight.

Doesn’t that just look delicious? I again omitted red sauce on this one, instead using a mixture of olive oil, garlic powder and oregano and using a kitchen brush to spread it over the crust. Then I topped it with mozzarella cheese, green peppers, yellow squash, red onions, mushrooms and ricotta cheese. I kind of piled on the veggies, but it made for a healthy and filling dinner.

And obviously, you don’t have to make your own pizza crust to benefit from these toppings. Use frozen pizza dough or buy a pre-baked crust to just as easily make these two awesome pies!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

