only help my unbelief


Fitness Friday: Make lifestyles, not lists
July 18, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

You’ve probably noticed that over the past couple of weeks, I haven’t exactly been telling you how many push-ups I’ve done or how many miles I’ve run.

Chelsey, where have all the numbers gone?

Don’t you like them anymore?

Ummm.

If you know me, you know I love numbers. I love counting things. I love writing things down.

And I especially love making lists.

Lists are good things. They can help remind you of what needs to be done. They can keep you on track at the grocery store. But lists can also enslave you in a vicious cycle of legalism.

That’s what was happening.

I had lists of push-up routines, lists of mileage goals, lists of calories, lists of food. And I was doing well, except for the fact that I was miserable.

So I’m throwing lists out the window. By the grace of God, I want to make a lifestyle, not lists of lists of lists.

I’ve been watching what I eat, trying to keep in my head if I’ve had enough fruit, enough vegetables, too much cheese.

I’ve been exercising 3-4 times a week, trying to run at least three times.

And I’m worrying more about how I feel, rather than how much the scale reads (especially since I’m convinced the scale at the gym is possessed).

Let’s start a rebellion against the lists that OCDs like me thrive off of, and instead learn to function in the realm of freedom and flexibility.

You with me?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My husband is the best about reminding me that my new exercise/healthy eating plan is NOT about the numbers; it’s about my body being healthier. When I’m bummed because the scale went up, he reminds me that my muscles are stronger, I have more energy, and I can run farther.

So yes, I am with you all the way! πŸ™‚

Comment by Mary Catherine

Christian’s really good about reminding me of that, too, but it’s just so easy to fall back on the numbers. Glad to know, though, that there’s a fellow OCDer breaking free. πŸ™‚

Comment by chelseykarns




Leave a Reply

