only help my unbelief


Why I blog
July 10, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

Every time I go to hit “publish” on a post, I stop.

Do I really want the whole world to be able to read this?

Now, I know the whole world won’t read everything I wrote. I’ve had 2,000 hits in the last six weeks, but that’s hardly my whole town, let alone the whole world.

But I don’t want to be voyeuristic, and I don’t want to needlessly bare mundane details about my life.

I hope that, most of the time, I don’t even come close to that. I share my Saturday Times Seven things to spark discussion. I offer Monday Motivation for encouragement. When I find a good recipe, I post it, because I want people who come here to find new and creative ways to feed themselves and others.

But sometimes I do post personal things, like about how I met Christian. I mean, come on, we met online. How much more un-personal can our relationship be?

Seriously, though, my purpose in sharing our story is the same thing that’s written above – for the glory of God. While I often lose focus because I’m a sinner, that’s what I really want. And I think telling people how I met Christian and how God has redeemed our relationship is a way I can glorify God.

‘Cause you see, I love to write. And like Eric Liddell with running, when I write, I feel God’s pleasure – providing, of course, that I’m writing about appropriate topics.

I don’t know how many people actually read this each day, but I like having my own little place in the world to share encouragement and what the Lord is doing in my life.

That said, reader Sarah commented with a link to this view of blogging, which is hilarious.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like the new page…looks good!

Comment by Lee

Thanks! Credit goes to Lindsay Wardlaw, a friend of mine, for doing the header. Once she sent that to me today, I was inspired to re-do the rest of it. I’m glad you like it!

Comment by chelseykarns




Leave a Reply

