only help my unbelief


Word of the day: Mondegreen
July 8, 2008, 7:58 pm
Filed under: Posts

I have been thinking about doing this for a while, even though I probably won’t come up with a word every day.

But today I ran across the word mondegreen at work in this CNN story. It refers to a phrase that is confused in song lyrics. The word comes from an old Scottish ballad where the words are “laid him on the green,” but people often thought it was “Lady Mondegreen.”

One “mondegreen” I’ve been guilty of is from the Steven Curtis Chapman song “Fingerprints of God.” I used to think that during the chorus he sang “I can see the fingertips of God when I look at you.” Why I thought he was saying that when the song title is what it is, I don’t know.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

