only help my unbelief


Jesus, I lift my eyes
July 6, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

Earlier this week, I was struggling through something in prayer during my quiet time. I generally listen to my “hymns” playlist while I’m reading my Bible, and this song came on. It encouraged me greatly, so I hope it does the same for you this Lord’s day.

When sins and fears prevailing rise,
And fainting hope almost expires,
Jesus, to Thee I lift my eyes,
To Thee I breathe my soul’s desires.
Are you not mine, my living Lord
And can my hope, my comfort die
Fixed on the everlasting word,
That word which built the earth and sky?

Jesus, I lift my eyes
To Thee I breathe my soul’s desires
Jesus, I lift my eyes
To Thee I lift my eyes

Here let my faith unshaken dwell,
Immovable the promise stands.
Not all the powers of earth or hell
Can e’re dissolve the sacred bands.

Here, oh my soul,
Thy trust repose
If Jesus is forever mine.
Not death itself that last of foes
Can break a union so divine.
–from “Redemption Songs,” Jars of Clay

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

