only help my unbelief


Places I’ve been
July 5, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts

I was wary of this topic when it first popped into my head, because, well, I haven’t been many places. At least not many cool places. I go to Walmart every week, but that doesn’t seem too intriguing for my readership. But the more I thought about it, the more I thought about how I could manipulate the places I’ve been to make them sound interesting, so here goes.

1. Castle Neuschwanstein, Germany
I list this one first because it sounds the most impressive. In reality, it was not that interesting, although the view from the top was beautiful (if you remember my old blog header, that was on the walk up). Christian and I took a five hour train ride to see this place, on which the Disney Cinderella castle is based.

2. Niagara Falls, the Canada side
Sure, it’s cliche, but have you been there? Lots of people have seen it from the American side, but we used to live about an hour from the Canadian border, so we took a drive there when we lived in Michigan. I mostly ruined the time for my sisters by keeping them three feet from the railing at all times, because I was terrified they would fall in.

3. Mackinac Island, Michigan
One word: fudge. This island, located just off Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, is mostly known for that and the fact that no cars are allowed on the island. You either walk or take a horse-drawn carriage. My grandparents took our family here for vacation once when we were living in Michigan.

4. Sewanee, Tennessee
This place still feels almost magical to me, even after having been there numerous times. If you’ve never driven through Sewanee, you probably won’t understand what I’m talking about. This place is also really special since I first met Christian within the gates of the Domain.

5. CIA Headquarters, Virginia
My freshman year of college, I took a class on national security and intelligence. Our professor used to be in the CIA, so for spring break we went to D.C. and he took us to a bunch of really cool places, including the CIA headquarters. We saw basically nothing that could be considered awesome, but it was pretty cool to have to show our ID and to see all these guys with M-16s wandering around.

6. Bamberg, Germany
I didn’t want to group this with No. 1 because it’s really different from the castle. Christian lived in Bamberg for almost five months last year while studying abroad, and I was able to visit him there for two weeks. The town is one of the only ones in Germany that wasn’t destroyed during WWII, so the buildings are all intact and really old. It’s chock full of history, and we were able to walk all around the town each evening. Beautiful.

7. Lion Country Safari, Florida
OK, I was desperate for a seventh place. This is one of those places where you ride in your car through realistic wildlife exhibits. My grandparents took me and my sister here every summer for a long time. I have happy memories, and no other interesting location to list in its place. Sigh.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

