only help my unbelief


The world, the flesh, the devil
July 3, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

That morning, my flesh was fighting me at every turn.

I’ve been studying Galatians, and that morning I planned to do so when I got up. But I needed to go to the grocery store.

“No problem,” I said to myself. “I’ll do it when I come back.”

The grocery store didn’t take long, but when I got back I needed to shower and get some food together for meals. By the time I finished, it was 12:15 p.m., and I had to leave at 12:45 to meet Christian for lunch.

“Thirty minutes isn’t enough time. I’ll be too hurried to read my Bible.”

So I watched TV until it was time to go.

When I got back around 2:15, I was so proud of myself for curling up in bed with my Bible and study notebook. I had told myself I was going to have my quiet time, and now I was having it.

I’m so good at overcoming temptation on my own.

I read the first couple verses of the passage. I heard the notification on my computer that says I have an email.

I wonder if that’s an email I’ve been waiting on.

Back to Galatians. I can see my computer screen, and the screensaver pops up. Oh, what a cute picture. I should blog about that later.

Galatians? Oh yeah.

I look at the clock. Only two hours until I have to leave for work. So much to do. If I keep reading my Bible at this rate, I’ll have even less time to –

I stopped. What could be more eternal than reading Galatians? I need to be told that living under the law isn’t how it’s supposed to be, because that’s how I’m living – that if I just get in 30 minutes of Bible study a day, I’ve done my duty and nobody could fault me.

And because I view it that way, other things compete for my attention when I should be completely devoted to God’s Word.

And so I lifted up a prayer to heaven and asked God to forgive me for my ephemeral heart that focuses on the here-and-now at the expense of the what-is-to-come.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

