only help my unbelief


Fitness Friday #3: I met my goal!
June 27, 2008, 11:00 am
Filed under: Posts

That’s right, ladies and gentlemen. I weighed myself yesterday (remember, I’m headed up for a wedding today), and the scale said 199 on the dot. I met my goal – by the grace of God – with a few days to spare, and aside from the weight loss, I’m feeling better and my clothes are fitting better as well. I’d say that’s a goal well met for this month.

The numbers
Running
I ran 7.74 miles total this week, with my longest distance 2.48 miles. Remember that this includes running and walking. I’m running 3 minutes / walking 3 minutes for 30 minutes, and I’m going to repeat that next week until I can comfortably run at a 10-minute-mile pace (6.0). Right now, I’m doing 5.4 – 5.6 mph comfortably.

Pushups
Perhaps the area of my biggest improvement. I did a total of 121 pushups this week, with my longest rep 18 pushups (!!!). I’m going to go back to week 1 of the Hundred Pushups program next week, but instead of going down the first column, I’m going to do the third column. Whew. We’ll see how that goes.

Weights
I worked out twice this week with two notable improvements: I increased my weight on the shoulder press (which typically has been my hardest machine), and I increased my reps on the triceps (I don’t want to look like an American Gladiator, so I’d rather increase reps than weight). I’m going to try increasing my reps on biceps Monday, but Wednesday it was really hard. We’ll see.

Eating
No numbers here, except for I’m supposed to take in about 1,900 calories a day, and the most I’ve taken in has been about 1,700. I feel like I’m eating a lot, but I’m going to need to make some adjustments next week so I don’t feel like I’m starving at 10 p.m. The problem is that I don’t know what to eat. I get tired of eating the same things. Although last night I found one solution: take advantage of the desserts your co-workers bring. I needed 500 calories when I was done with dinner last night, and wasn’t sure what I was going to do, until someone announced they had brought a pina colada cake. Well, OK, I’ll have some.

So I’m feeling pretty good at the end of this week, though I’m slightly anxious about the wedding I’m going to tomorrow. Tonight is the rehearsal dinner, and tomorrow is what’s sure to be a delicious reception. It’s hard to keep track at food events like this, so I’m going to work hard to make good choices without stressing. I want it to be fun, after all!

I hope you all have a great weekend. Tomorrow for Saturday times seven there’ll be my seven favorite CDs, and Sunday I’ve got another devotional from my pastor.

God bless!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

