only help my unbelief


Grocery shopping changes
June 25, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

I’ve been fearing this day for a couple weeks now, and it’s finally here.

I have to change my grocery shopping and eating habits.

I’m tracking my food at MyDailyPlate.com, and thought I’d be surprised that I was eating too much. Instead, I’ve discovered I’m not eating enough calories, and my carbohydrate/fat/protein ratio is really off.

For example, today I ate a huge bowl of cereal for breakfast, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch, a Moo Moo Mr. Cow from Moe’s for dinner with queso, salsa and chips, and then for a work snack I had some mini graham cracker things (really good). But I also worked out today, so I was still about 500 calories short, and I’m feeling it. I’m hungry.

The problem is, many, many foods are unappealing to me. I’m already a fairly picky eater, but lately foods that I used to like are starting to sound yucky. Unfortunately, a lot of foods that I don’t like are healthy foods.

I was going to list the fruits and vegetables that I don’t like, but then realized it would be faster to list the ones I DO like:

  • broccoli
  • yellow squash
  • zucchini
  • apples
  • grapes
  • pineapple
  • onions
  • corn
  • peppers
  • strawberries
  • raspberries
  • romaine lettuce
  • There you have it. I don’t like tomatoes, or carrots, or bananas, or any other kind of fruit. This makes it really hard to eat in a healthy way, because it’s hard to plan a menu around what’s in season.

    The other issue is that some foods that were appealing aren’t anymore. For example, when I think of having a sandwich, lunch meat doesn’t sound good. That’s why I’ve been eating peanut-butter and jelly. But if I could convince myself to have lunch meat, I could add lettuce and onion to my sandwich and get some extra veggies. Herein lies my dilemma.

    But tomorrow I’m going to go to the grocery store, and I’m going to try some new things that might help me get my calories but also be healthy.

    On my list: oatmeal, cottage cheese, shrimp, and the ingredients for cilantro bean salad (which my mom gave me over the weekend). It has diced tomatoes and beans in it (obviously), so it’s going to be a big step for me, but I tried it Sunday and actually really enjoyed it.

    I’m also going to shop once a week now instead of every two weeks. The reason for this is that I eat lots of fruits and veggies the first week, but once they go bad or I run out, I don’t eat them anymore. This happened to my grapes and strawberries this week. I hate wasting money.

    So we’ll see how it goes. I’ll post the cilantro bean salad recipe (and maybe a picture, if I get courageous) once I make it – probably tomorrow afternoon.

    If anyone knows of any recipes that aren’t too crazy and don’t involve any of the things I don’t like, let me know… haha.

    4 Comments so far
    Leave a comment

    One of the best things for me has been yogurt. I know a lot of people are averse to it (including my husband), but it is such a great food, not only for dieters. I would recommend any reduced-fat flavor, but not the reduced calorie. I can’t stand the taste of artificial sweetener in it (though I can drink diet sodas…who knows)

    One way to use it is to substitute it for mayo or sour cream in any sort of recipe. Just grab the plain, unflavored kind. Also, for about the past month, I’ve been making smoothies for breakfast – a cup or so of lowfat vanilla yogurt, some fresh (or frozen) fruit, a little bit of juice of your choice, and a squeeze of honey. So delicious with a couples pieces of whole-wheat toast.

    And I can sympathize with the food frustration, though for me it is my rather picky husband!

    Comment by Mary Catherine

    MC – Thanks SO much. I’m about to head to the store, and I think I’m going to try out the smoothies. I wasn’t sure what else to put it in besides the fruit, and I didn’t even know you could use frozen fruit. Thanks so much for commenting!

    Comment by chelseykarns

    Um… ok, update. Bought smoothie stuff, and it was the best thing I’ve ever tasted. Thank you again, Mary Catherine!! I’ll post what I used and a picture of its thick goodness later… oh man. I want another one.

    Comment by chelseykarns

    […] 27, 2008 at 9:00 am · Filed under recipes Because she inspired me with her comment about how to please picky eaters, this smoothie will forever be christened “The Mary […]

    Pingback by Good eats: The Mary Catherine smoothie « Grace, grammar & good eats




    Leave a Reply

    