only help my unbelief


Monday motivation: What if my foot slips?
June 23, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

Reading the Bible all the way through sometimes seems like a requirement to move up to the next level of holiness. It’s not. My pastor said at the beginning of the year that it’s better to meditate on one verse every day for the whole year and be transformed then to speed read your way through the Bible, not hanging on to anything.

However, one advantage to reading through the whole Bible is that you run across verses that aren’t on the top 10 Bible verses list (#1 is John 3:16; #4 is Romans 8:28. You get the idea).

Last year I read all the way through the Psalms, and I ran across this verse that I’d never seen before.

Unless the Lord had been my help, my soul would soon have settled in silence. If I say, ‘My foot slips,’ your mercy, O Lord, will hold me up. In the multitude of my anxieties within me, your comforts delight my soul. – Psalm 94:17-19

So many days it feels like my foot is slipping. But notice that the psalmist is the one who thinks his foot is slipping – and yet, it’s not. God is holding him up with his mercy.

When you’re setting goals like trying to lose weight, or being a better friend, or anything, there are some days when you feel like your foot is slipping. Maybe you weren’t as resolved to eat healthy one day. Maybe you lost your tongue with someone you love. God understands this, and He tells us not to worry, because His comforts delight our soul.

I hope this week as you traverse whatever God has put in front of you that you trust His promises – His comforts – even in failures and disappointments.

As for me, I’m hoping to lose another pound this week, go to the gym four times and get a restful night’s sleep every night. But only God can give me those things, because He is my help.

Have a great week!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

