only help my unbelief


Saturday times seven: Previous and current jobs
June 21, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

A note about these posts: I’m desperately trying to provoke discussion with these Saturday posts, so by all means, leave a comment answering the question at the bottom!

I was inspired for this week’s Saturday post by a meme that asks you for four jobs you’ve had. I was wondering if I could come up with seven, and I was able to think of exactly seven, so… here goes.

1. Kennel assistant
I had this job for parts of a year once I was old enough to work. My basic responsibilities included letting all the dogs out to go to the bathroom, feeding them, cleaning out their cages, and – you guessed it – shoveling poop. I also used a lawnmower for the first time during this job. I really enjoyed it, even though it was hard work, because I’ve always had a fondness for dogs. The only part I didn’t like was going to feed the “outside dogs.” These were the dogs that were used to being outside, so they got kenneled in a fenced in area outside. They had covered kennels, and that was the problem: The first time I went to clean them out, I was told to spray the ceiling rafters with a hose because snakes often slept up there. You can bet that the first thing I did every time I went outside was immediately turn on the high-powered hose and pray to God that there weren’t any snakes.

2. Lab research assistant
I got this gig through a friend from church. I worked at the USC Chemisty Department in between my junior and senior years helping our Ph.D. student friend work on his doctorate. A lot of it was cleaning lab equipment, but I also carried out a fair number of experiments for him. I got really good at Excel, and I also got my name on two published articles in scientific journals.

3. Behavioral therapist
From November 2004 to August 2006, I worked with two different little boys who had autism. Although this was one of the hardest jobs I’ve had, it was also one of the most rewarding. Autism is an interesting disorder because every kid manifests symptoms differently, so it means you have to be flexible and patient. Always. I really like what I’m doing now, but sometimes I wish I was still working in this area.

4. Office assistant
Like every person whose dad was capable of hiring them to work for him, I worked for my dad at the insurance company where he’s a vice president. This involved looking up driving records, alphabetizing the entire hard-copy directory of churches who the company insures, and addressing lots and lots of envelopes. Woohoo.

5. Babysitter
This is something I’ve done off and on for years, but last summer I was the official babysitter for one family. They had four little girls. One was born about a month before I started working for them, and the oldest turned five last summer. Like I said. Little girls. It was probably the most stress-free, enjoyable job I’ve ever had. The kids were funny, their mom was relaxed, and I got to become best friends with an 18-month-old kid. It was awesome.

6. Copy editor
What I do now. I write headlines, captions and try to come up with witty, pithy phrases for the little blurbs on A2 about celebrities (This week’s winner, on a paragraph about Young Jeezy getting arrested for DUI: “On top of the charts; under the law”). And… that’s about it. I’m just an intern, so my responsibilities are limited, but I’m learning a lot, and I think I’ll miss it when it’s over.

7. Property transfer compiler
I do this right now for The State as well. It involves going to county courthouses in the newspaper’s coverage area and looking up deeds that have been filed on property transfers. I type them all into an Excel spreadsheet, format them, and they get printed in the “Your Home” section of the paper on Sundays. Not a thrilling job, but it’s good for a little extra spending money.

And that’s it. Those are all the jobs I’ve ever had, which nicely worked out to an even seven.

What jobs have you had? Best job? Worst job?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Chelsey, I saw the update on facebook and decided to check out your blog–nice website and great work.

Most interesting job: working with Christian on a random mountain surveying the land for German-speaking Mennonites in Maxwell, TN. (for the best surveyor from here to North Dakota.)

Take care.

Comment by Coleton Bragg




Leave a Reply

