only help my unbelief


Fitness Friday #2: A half-pound is still something!
June 20, 2008, 12:36 pm
Filed under: Posts

This past week has gone by really fast. It seems like I just updated you guys on my weight loss and fitness goals.

I’m really, really happy this week. I’ve lost 2.5 pounds this month. I now weigh 199.5 pounds. Although I only lost 0.5 pounds since last week, I’ve broken the 200 pound barrier, which seemed insurmountable a couple weeks ago. My goal now: Never be above 200 pounds again.

I’ve started incorporating cheese back into my life because I’m just not getting enough protein (and I also really like cheese). I discovered this through MyDailyPlate, which I’ve mentioned before. Once you’ve entered what you’ve eaten that day, it shows you a pie chart of your carbs, fat and protein. I tend to get more than enough fat, but not enough protein. I started making little cheese cracker sandwiches with mozzarella cheese and Wheat Thins multi-grain crackers. They taste awesome, especially if you heat them up in the microwave for 20 seconds!

Allowing little indulgences like these have made this dieting attempt much more enjoyable. I’m not being a glutton, but I’m also not denying myself every possible thing I like to eat. That makes it much more likely that I won’t have some sort of favorite food binge and rack up 5000 calories in one day.

Now to the specifics:

Weight training
Improvements: I moved the weight up 11 pounds on the rotary twist, making it really, reallly hard. I don’t have a quantitative number on how my abs are doing, but based on how much they hurt, I’d say they’re getting worked out well enough.
Issues: I started changing the order I do my arm exercises in, and it makes a difference. The shoulder press, for example, is much easier if I do it at the beginning of my workout rather than toward the end. I also decided to work out my arms only two days a week, three max.

Running
Improvements: I started out the week running 2 minutes, walking 4 minutes for 30 minutes. I was doing the running at 6.0 mph and the walking at 4.0 mph. By the end of the week, I had moved up to 6.1 for running and 4.2 for walking. Not a huge improvement, but I’m celebrating the small victories! I ran a total of 7.04 miles this week over three workouts. I don’t want to up my mileage too much (even though 7 miles isn’t that much), so I’m probably still just going to run 3 days next week and also do a quick 1 mile workout on a fourth day.

Pushups
I started the Hundred Pushups plan this week. I did it for four days instead of just three because I was really unsure of how quickly I would be able to improve. I was surprised, though: While Tuesday I could only manage 2 in a row without my arms shaking, on Thursday and Friday I did 10 in a row! I guess working out my arms in combination with this pushup plan is really working! I did a total of 63 pushups this week (26 of those were today!).

Overall, I was happy with this week. I made it to the gym four times, which was better than last week, and I’m only a half-pound away from my goal for this month. I feel healthy, and I’m thankful to the Lord for giving me discipline and motivation.

Coming Monday: Motivation for the week, and setting some new goals!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are really inspiring me to get into shape. And you know, that number on the scale doesn’t really mean much. I weigh less, but I can’t even jog half a block wihout being winded. You are so much stronger than I am, and I suspect far healthier too. I hope you realize how much more important that is than weight!

I started myself on what is, I guess, my version of a hundred sit-ups plan. But now I think I may add push-ups too!

I miss seeing you five days a week and I hope you don’t mind me stalking you here, but if we can’t talk for 20 minutes while playing around in Illustrator, this is the next-best thing, right?

Comment by Jess Davis

Jess,

Thanks for your sweet encouragement!

I am reminding myself that health and fitness is more important than weight, but at the same time, I DO weigh more than I should. Fitness is my goal – I just hope the weight coming off is part of the process. šŸ™‚

Great job with the sit-ups plan! Adding in push-ups shouldn’t be hard, and I think you’ll be surprised at how quickly you improve.

Comment by chelseykarns

Hey Chelsey, I’ve been reading your blogs fairly regularly as your updates pop up on my facebook feed. Just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading what you have to say and also to encourage you in your health/weight loss goals. I too am in the process of getting healthier. It’s a long road, but it’s worth it. I’ve lost 4 pounds in a month, and it doesn’t seem like much, but I just have to remind myself that in another month that will mean 8 pounds (but hopefully more once I get the ball rolling).

Anyway, I look forward to reading more from you and perhaps using you as something of an inspiration as I tentatively step into the world of blogging.

Mary Catherine

Comment by Mary Catherine

Mary Catherine,

Thanks for stopping by! And thanks also for the encouragement. It’s a really slow process, you’re right… but I’m hoping that doing it this way will result in weight loss as well as a lifestyle change, instead of just starving myself for a few months so I can fit into a smaller size pants.

I don’t know what kind of inspiration I can be, but I am definitely looking forward to seeing your contributions to the blogosphere!

Comment by chelseykarns




Leave a Reply

