only help my unbelief


My thoughts on blogging
June 19, 2008, 10:36 pm
Filed under: Posts

I feel like I should have posted this before I wrote my post about offending others vs. offending God. I wrote a small disclaimer at the beginning of that post, but what I wanted to say about addressing issues others bring up is enough for a post. This is that post.

The blogosphere is a public place. It is also a very detached place. Typing something seems less real than saying something, so it’s easy to set up two different standards for yourself as a blogger. Of course I would never call someone an idiot in real life, but typing “Johnny’s post about X made him sound like an idiot” takes about two seconds and doesn’t have any impact on my soul at all. The thing is, it should.

Because God says that we will be held accountable for every word we utter. Even though there weren’t computers back in the days of Jesus, God knew the future, and I don’t think the things I write in my blog posts are exempt from God’s judgment. In some ways, I think I’m even more accountable for what I write here, because so many eyes see them – most of whom I don’t even know. How can I be sure that everyone who reads what I write understands what I’m trying to say?

The truth is, I can’t. And it’s hard to go back and make an apology, because some visitors only ever come on time, and they may never see my follow-up post to something I wrote hastily without any thought. That means I have to be extra careful what I write the first time.

On my old Xanga blog, I got called out several times on things I wrote. I’d stand by most of those things still, but I know there were times when my passion and zeal got the better of me, and I frantically typed something out and hit publish without even offering up a prayer.

At the same time, I don’t think addressing things people say on their blogs is sinful. That’s why I addressed what Pastor Lukaszewski wrote on his blog about offending people. But if I knew the pastor personally, and we had a private conversation where he said the exact same thing to me, I woudn’t mention who said it, even if I chose to address it on my blog. But since he wrote it on his blog, I linked directly to his post, because I wanted everyone who read my post to be able to read what he wrote to make sure that I wasn’t taking something out of context.

In some ways, the blogosphere is wonderful because it provides automatic accountability (that can be scary, too). And I think that’s the way it should be, as long as it can be done in grace and gentleness.

I hope that’s what you see in everything I post. If I ever fall away from that, then please take this post as my encouragement to keep me accountable. I’m a sinner, and although I’ve been saved by the grace of God, I do make mistakes, and many of them tend to be through my words.

As my title says, I want all that I do to be done to the glory of God, even my most mundane blog posts. My goal is not to impress you with my verbiage or wow you with my diction, but instead to encourage all who come here to “taste and see that the Lord is good” (Psalm 34:8).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

