only help my unbelief


Monday musings
June 16, 2008, 4:23 pm
Filed under: Posts

An afternoon post – how novel!

Normally at this time, I’m getting ready for work. But tonight I have the evening off, so I’m working on sending out a few resumes.

Looking for a job is not fun. Not even kind of. I know myself, and I know what I’m capable of and what it takes for me to learn something new, but it’s hard to convey that to a potential employer. I want to present myself in the best light, but I also want to be honest. If you have any suggestions – or if you would like to offer me a job 🙂 – feel free to leave a comment or send me an email.

I’m looking forward to tonight, though it’s been marred by a minor disappointment. Christian and I signed up for Netflix last week. The second cheapest plan is only $9 a month, and you can have one movie at a time for an unlimited amount each month. You can also watch an unlimited number of movies online. I signed up Friday so thought the first movie might be here today, but looks like it won’t be here until tomorrow. We had planned to watch a movie tonight after our Moe’s date, and I think we still will, but looks like we’ll be picking a movie from Katie’s DVD drawer.

Probably one of the most boring things to do is drive for 40 miles to the middle of nowhere, and then sit in a musty room in front of a slow computer looking up deeds that have been filed in the past month. Wondering why anyone would choose to do this? Well, I was offered a part-time opportunity at The State this summer in addition to copy editing, so once a week I go to the Lexington and Richland county judicial centers and look up property transfers. That’s not too bad, but once a month I have to go to Kershaw County and do the same thing. Camden is a cute town, but it’s really far away, and people there transfer a lot of property.

I had grand plans to do other things today, but once I had dropped a movie off at Blockbuster, stopped at Wal-mart to pick up resume sending supplies, driven to Lexington and done the transfers there and then driven to Kershaw County and back, I was done. I didn’t do the Richland transfers and I didn’t go to the gym. I’ll do those tomorrow, Lord willing. I love working on my “day off.”

Well, I suppose that’s it for now. I’m going to finish up these resumes (well, my goal is to finish one) and then get myself ready for when Christian comes to pick me up for our date. After two years of not being able to do stuff like this, I’m pretty darn excited.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

