only help my unbelief


Monday motivation: Straining forward to what lies ahead
June 16, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

Another Monday means another week of pushing towards my fitness goals for this year.

Something the Holy Spirit keeps reminding me is that anything I accomplish isn’t through my own power, but through God, whose “strength is made perfect in my weakness” (2 Corinthians 12). I am weak physically when it comes to going to the gym, but I’m also weak emotionally and spiritually every moment. And sometimes all three of those areas combine into one big struggle: I feel fat. I care what other people are thinking about me. And that means I’m not resting in the love of Christ, which means I’m sinning by not trusting the Lord.

So this week, I’m going to cling to Philippians 3:12-14…

Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Paul is talking about our sanctification, and how we have to press on toward holiness. But we only do this through the righteousness of Christ, not by our own merit.

If I lose 30 pounds by December 31, will I be thrilled? Yes! But I can be thrilled today that Christ Jesus has made me His own.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Chels,

Good read. I often lose motivation easily as I am easily discouraged. Thanks for posting this and the verses.

I added your blog to my Google reader and to my blog list on my blog.

ryanv

Comment by Ryan V.




Leave a Reply

