only help my unbelief


Saturday times seven: Columbia restaurants
June 14, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

After all these posts about cheap, easy meals, I don’t want to give the wrong impression. I do go out to eat, and I enjoy going out to eat a lot. However, like my meals, I have a few favorite restaurants I stick to, and at those restaurants, I have a few meals that I stick to. And when I say few, I mean… one.

1. Moe’s Southwest Grill. I’ve mentioned this one before. I’ve been going to Moe’s once a week for the last three years. It’s one of the best places to get bang for your buck, and now it’s especially invigorating to go because most of the employees already know what I want. What I get: Two overachievers or a Homewrecker if it’s one of their “special deal” nights, or a Moo Moo Mr. Cow (from the kid’s menu).

2. D’s Wings. I used to go here almost every week with my friend Emily. If you go on their 30 cent wing night, it’s almost as good of a deal as Moe’s. When I go, I order my food with my drink because I get the same thing every time. What I get: 10 wings, medium sauce, side of blue cheese, raw fries. Bam.

3. Panera Bread. I think I’ve maybe eaten lunch or dinner here twice. Generally, this is my favorite place to eat breakfast with friends. They have great little spinach and cheese souffles, but I don’t normally get them ’cause they’re kind of expensive. What I get: Asiago cheese bagel toasted with sun-dried tomato cream cheese.

(Note: At this point, I had to think for several minutes about what other places I eat. It’s not that I don’t eat out, but rather that I always eat at the same places.)

4. Yesterday’s. Located in bustling Five Points, this is one of my favorite “nice” restaurants (I don’t have high standards). I don’t eat here too often, but it’s reasonably priced and their macaroni and cheese (side item) is really, really good. What I get: Chicken finger dinner with macaroni and cheese and green beans on the side.

5. Teapot. Not a drink cafe; rather, a Chinese restaurant. Yeah, I don’t understand the name, either, but they have great Chinese food. It’s about five minutes from my apartment, so ordering takeout is easy. What I get: Sesame chicken and vegetable lo mein.

6. Olive Garden. I know lots of people like Olive Garden, but I’m serious. I think that since I turned 19 my freshman year, my friends have taken me to eat here every year for my birthday. And we also go there for everyone else’s birthdays. I don’t always get the same thing because their menu changes, but I lean towards white sauces, sausage and pasta.

7. Monterreys. Their title needs an apostrophe and their menu needs some copy editing, but their food is stellar. It’s seriously less than a mile from my apartment, and the place I go when I want Mexican food. What I get: Enchilada dinner: one beef, one chicken, one bean, one cheese. And free chips and salsa.

What’s your favorite place to eat in Columbia (or your city)?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

OK, I think your Monterreys praise deserves some qualifications,

It is NOT good Mexican food. It is a bland approximation of Mexican food meant for people who can’t handle spice.

But it has a good atmosphere, good margaritas and good queso, which are enough to make up for the bad food every once in a while.

A far better choice: El Burrito, in five points, which has the greatest salsa verde this side of the Mississippi. Or for an authentic experience, El Taqueria Rincon Vaquero, in West Columbia.

Comment by Jess Davis




Leave a Reply

