only help my unbelief


Only 28 pounds to go!
June 13, 2008, 2:32 pm
Filed under: Posts | Tags: ,

Well, my first week of weight loss is at an end. Setting goals definitely helped my attitude this week, even if some of the ways were small. For example:

  • At Walmart, I resisted the temptation to get ice cream, even though it was on sale and low-fat. I didn’t want to add anything I didn’t need.
  • When I took advantage of the $5 dollar footlong deal at Subway, I got the sub without mayonnaise. I did get cheese, but I watched my diet the rest of the day. (Oh, and I only ate half at a time!)
  • I drank at least 40 ounces of water every day.
  • At the store, I stocked up on apples and grapes, even though it’s hard to force myself to eat fruit.
  • I started keeping track of what I eat at www.mydailyplate.com. Even though I’m not sure how accurate the nutrition information is, I like being able to at least look at what I ate each day.

As far as improvements at the gym, I upped my weight on two of the exercises I do: the ab crunch and the lat pulldown. On the treadmill, I increased my speed and the distance I went while walking/running for 20 minutes. In fact, today, I started the running program for beginners and got off to a great beginning. I’m technically not a beginner to running in general, but I’m not very fast, so I’m starting at ground zero in an attempt to boost my speed.

The first week says to run 2 minutes, walk 4 minutes, then repeat 5 times. I ran the 2 minutes at 10-minute-mile pace, which is somewhat fast for me. But it felt great! I’m going to do week 1 all next week.

My goal for the end of the month is to lose 3 pounds. My starting weight is 202, so my goal for June 30 is 199. Today I weighed 200 pounds! I don’t entirely trust the scale at the gym, but I’m going to take hold of that number. That means I only need to lose one more pound by June 30. I think I can do it!

Next week I’m upping the stakes by starting the Hundred Pushups plan. Christian and I are going to compete against each other and see who can get to 100 first. He’ll probably win since he can already do more than me, but I don’t care. Pushups are a great way to work your abs and arms – and mine need a lot of work!

Monday I’ll fill you guys in on my weekly goals and how I plan to manuever the week physically, financially and nutritiously. Tune in next Friday to see how the weight loss is going!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Have you ever been to sparkpeople.com? It’s totally free and I’ve found it very helpful in meeting people with the same goals. You could check it out. You also can log your meals and fitness there too. Good luck to you!

Comment by doublepounder

[…] Chelsey Diet Girl The Happy Rock Karen Sugarpants Mac Run Momma Run Say What? Weight Ladder Workout Mommy […]

Pingback by » The One Hundred Pushup Goal




Leave a Reply

