only help my unbelief


On the menu: June 12-25
June 12, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Posts

I do my grocery shopping in two week stints. Today is grocery shopping day, and I’m excited, because I’m going to be using some coupons for the first time ever!

Most of my recipes feed 4 people, so I generally double the recipes (or 50% them) so that there are at least 3 meals each for Christian and me.

That generally means I’ll be making four meals for a fourteen-day period, which includes Sunday lunch with my parents and eating out once or twice a week. This works well for my current schedule because I work from 5 p.m. – 1 a.m. I generally sleep until 9 or 10 a.m. Going to the gym takes about 2 hours including drive time, so that leaves only about 4.5 hours of free time. In that time I have to shower, spend time with the Lord and occasionally eat lunch with Christian or another friend. Thus, I don’t really feel like cooking for 1-1.5 hours every day.

Instead, I pick one day every three or four days and cook a lot. I have a large stockpile of tupperware that really comes in handy.

For the next two weeks, here are the meals I have planned:

  • Chicken tetrazzini (3 meals for each)
  • Chicken enchiladas (2 meals for each, optional lunch if leftovers)
  • Stuffed shells (3 meals for each)
  • Chicken, broccoli and cheese casserole (3 meals for each)

Can you tell I like chicken? It’s not that I dislike ground beef, but as I mentioned a few days ago, I’m having some food issues – namely, I am having a hard time eating new foods. So I’m bouncing back on old favorites that I’ve eaten for years (actually, the tetrazzini is new, but it contains familiar ingredients, so I think it will be OK).

I’m really enjoying planning out a menu. Not only does it save time at the store, but it saves money. I’m not tempted by things that aren’t on my list (unless there’s a REALLY good sale). And because I know exactly how much I need, I never buy more than I’ll use. It works out awesome-ly.

If you have any suggestions for recipes that are fairly simple, easy to double and yummy, leave me a comment!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I made a really simple pasta salad that lasted me for like six meals, because it’s just me.

I like to use the tri-color spirals because they make me happy, but you could use another kind. I don’t think that spaghetti would work well, but another kind of noodle would be good.

Cook the pasta (1 lb), drain, then add whatever you want basically. I like to do (1 can) artichoke hearts, (one of those teeny cans) black olives, (handful) pepperoni, broccoli (raw, cut bite size), and sometimes small chunks of carrots. But really, you can use anything, and it’s a really good way to get rid of leftovers.

Add Italian dressing and parmesan cheese, and stick it in the fridge. I think it tastes best cold.

I tend to eat it as my lunch or dinner without anything else added, but it’s also really good as a side dish for dinner. If you added leftover chicken to it, it would make a good meal, too.

Or, for a warm pasta salad, get a bag of frozen vegetables (cauliflower, broccoli). Cook them and some pasta. Add a packet of ranch dressing seasoning (not actual ranch!). And voila! I think I might be forgetting one ingredient for this one, but it’s hard to mess up pasta salad.

Comment by Jess Davis

That sounds like an easy/simple idea… thanks!

Comment by chelseykarns




Leave a Reply

