only help my unbelief


Running program for beginners
June 11, 2008, 9:51 pm
Filed under: Posts | Tags: ,

People seem to like two things I write about: having an online boyfriend (or not) and food. But my recent post about losing weight also got a lot of hits, so I thought I’d share the running program I followed when training for the 10K I ran last April.

If you’ve never run before, start with walking 20 minutes a day for four days, then 30 minutes a day for the next four days. Then start the running program. If you’ve run consistently in the past, then you can probably start at Week 1. You may even be able to start later in the program.

Week 1
Run 2 minutes, walk 4 minutes. Complete 5 cycles.

Week 2
Run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes. Complete 5 cycles.

Week 3
Run 5 minutes, walk 2.5 minutes. Complete 4 cycles.

Week 4
Run 7 minutes, walk 3 minutes. Complete 3 cycles.

Week 5
Run 8 minutes, walk 2 minutes. Complete 3 cycles.

Week 6
Run 9 minutes, walk 2 minutes. Complete 2 cycles, then run 8 minutes.

Week 7
Run 9 minutes, walk 2 minute. Complete 3 cycles.

Week 8
Run 13 minutes, walk 2 minutes. Complete 2 cycles.

Week 9
Run 14 minutes, walk 1 minute. Complete 2 cycles.

Week 10
Run 30 minutes.

This plan was taken from The Complete Book of Running: Everything you need to know to run for fun, fitness and competition, edited by Amby Burfoot.

The book suggests running four times a week, and you can repeat a week if you need to. I can attest to the success of this vicariously through my roommate Katie – she had never run even a mile before she started this program, and she completed a 10K in a little over an hour. It took small steps, but she did it!

Running can be an incredibly enjoyable activity, and it’s great exercise. If you’ve never tried before, start with this simple plan and see how far it takes you!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

did you do this on a treadmill or in laps around the strom?

does it matter how fast you run?

Comment by Jess Davis

The first time, I did it at the Strom. Now I’m doing it on the treadmill. It doesn’t matter how fast you run… I’m using the treadmill so I’ve been setting it at 10 minute miles, but the first time I ever did it I think I was running 13 minute miles, haha.

Comment by chelseykarns




Leave a Reply

