only help my unbelief


God can save – and sanctify – a hard, hard heart
June 4, 2008, 11:44 am
Filed under: Posts

One of the blessings of growing older is being more aware of who your parents are. For years, they slave away for us, and we’re mostly clueless as to how much they’re sacrificing and who they really are. I’m only 22, but I’ve started to see my parents in a whole new light.

My mom told me about something my dad said yesterday, and it warmed my heart. They were talking about how hearts can be so hard, and my dad said, “Yes, but that little dwarf’s heart was hard.” He was talking, of course, about the dwarf Trumpkin from Prince Caspian. He and my mom had seen the movie the night before. If you haven’t read the book or seen the movie (no, purists, I know they’re not the same – but Trumpkin’s transformation is pretty accurate in the movie), Trumpkin is a dwarf who the Pevensie siblings find when they first return to Narnia. He’s gruff and grumpy towards them, but by the end, he’s kneeling humbly at the feet of Aslan and almost crying when Lucy Pevensie has to leave.

My dad was right. What is at issue is not the hardness of one’s heart, but rather, the strength of the One who has the power to soften it. Our God is bigger than the hardest heart, and He can melt even a heart of stone – and give us a heart of flesh.

My heart has been really hard lately. I mentioned last week that I was going to start reading through Jeremiah, but I kept falling on my face. I wasn’t consistent, I wasn’t getting anything out of it.

Christian and I had a long talk Sunday about this, and he suggested maybe I start with a different book, and go through it slowly, but not put intense pressure on myself. He also said that if I’m reading a passage and don’t see the application, I should pray until God lays something on my heart.

This may seem obvious to some, but it was novel to me. So I put Jeremiah aside (for now, anyway) and picked up the book of John. I’m reading 5-10 verses at a time, and God is using it so much to soften my heart.

I read today where the people are asking John if he is Jesus, and he says no. They ask him if he’s Elijah, etc. and he says no. When he finally does answer, he doesn’t even say, “I’m John, dummies!” Instead he quotes from the Old Testament and points them directly to Christ.

It took me a while to see the application, but today God really softened my heart when I read how John responded. He wasn’t angry or prideful. His number one motive was to prepare the people for Christ by telling them about Him, and He did that by pointing to Christ.

When people talk to me, I want them to see me. But John didn’t. He wanted everyone to look at Him and be reminded of Christ.

Lord, give me that heart today!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

