only help my unbelief


An America I won’t feel good about
May 29, 2008, 7:39 pm
Filed under: Posts

This morning I slept in after a long night at work and several nights previously of very little sleep. I woke up in time to watch a re-run of The Colbert Report, one of my guilty pleasures.

While eating chocolate chip pancakes, I laughed at Colbert’s “microbe beat” and chuckled at his nightly segment “The Word.” But when Senator Claire McCaskill, a Democrat from Missouri, came on for the interview portion, I stopped laughing.

Well, actually, I did laugh at the beginning when he asked her if she was a woman – saying he wanted to make sure because he had “been burned before.” But when Mrs. McCaskill started talking about why she supported Obama for president, the show was no longer funny.

Colbert made a few jabs at Obama tongue-in-cheek, including saying that maybe the reason younger Americans like Obama is because they can relate to him – insomuch as they too are too young and experienced to be a good president.

But what made my blood boil just a little bit, and my heart cry out for God’s mercy, was when she said that she thinks Obama will make our country “an America that we can feel good about again.”

Honestly, I can’t remember a time when I’ve ever felt good about America. I haven’t felt good about it since Bush has been in office, probably like most people who claim to be Democrats, but I also didn’t feel good about it when Clinton was president.

Forget about the past, though. Let’s think about the future. I’m not going to get into the economy or taxes or education. I care about the position of Christianity in American culture. While I’m not so thrilled about John McCain’s stance on religion, either, Obama’s language breaks my heart. The following is a summary from his website talking about a speech he gave last year.

Senator Obama also laid down principles for how to discuss faith in a pluralistic society, including the need for religious people to translate their concerns into universal, rather than religion-specific, values during public debate.

If I’m a religious person who really believes what I say I believe, then translating my concerns into universal values will probably go against whatever I believe, thus making religion obsolete.

Of course, religion won’t ever be obsolete. God puts the authorities and rulers in their positions,and I know that He is completely sovereign over the American political system. But I’m sorry, Sen. McClaskill – I won’t feel good about any America where I’m required to muddle God’s Word into something that anyone – Christian or not – can agree with.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

