only help my unbelief


Something everyone should know
May 28, 2008, 11:55 pm
Filed under: Posts

All you LOST fans would be so proud.

First, a little background.

I work night shifts as a copy editor. I just started last week and am technically an “intern,” so I often feel unncessary and very, very unhelpful. Sure, some of my headlines make it in the paper, and I’ve caught some fairly horrendous grammatical mistakes, but overall I don’t feel like I do much.

Last night, I actually made some errors in the copy I edited, which is about the worst thing you can do. I was having an off night, and I knew it, and I felt terrible.

But tonight, I think I redeemed myself.

When the paper got printed a little bit ago, I was assigned to read the business section to check for errors. But I took a quick glance at the Life&Style section. Oh, what’s this? A story about LOST?

My first thought was to mentally curse the fact that I have to work tomorrow night and will have to settle for watching the finale online Friday.

I skimmed through the article, stopping at a picture of Kate holding Aaron. The caption read: “Evangeline Lily stars in ‘Lost’.” First of all, that’s a terrible caption, but that’s not the point.

They spelled her name wrong. My heart skipped a beat. They HAD spelled her name wrong, right? I quickly pulled up Google and typed her name in. Yes, of course they had. Of course I knew, because I’ve spent hours reading LOST posts, Lostpedia and anything else I can find about LOST.

I checked one more time. Yes, they had spelled her last name with only one ‘L’. And then I nervously said across the short cubicle wall, “John, I think I might have found something.”

He seemed surprised, which isn’t surprising after last night.

I told him what was wrong, and he said that was a really bad error, and it was good that I caught it.

So I think I made up for last night… but really, all I can think about is how anyone couldn’t know how to spell Kate’s real name. Sheesh.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

