only help my unbelief


Charles Spurgeon on anxiety
May 27, 2008, 3:14 pm
Filed under: Posts

I’ve been reading Charles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening for several months now, and the selection for yesterday morning (May 26) was just what I needed.

“…the very essence of anxious care is imagining that we are wiser than God and putting ourselves in His place as if we could do for Him what He has undertaken to do for us. We attempt to think of things that we could imagine Him forgetting; we work to take upon ourselves a heavy burden, as if He were unable or unwilling to take it for us… Anxiety makes us doubt God’s lovingkindness, and so our love to Him grows cold; we feel mistrust, and in this we grieve the Spirit of God, so that our prayers are hindered, our consistent example spoiled, and our life one of self-seeking.”

The conclusion Spurgeon draws from a life of anxiety is so true. I can’t always see it right away, but when I let myself grow anxious, I do start to doubt God’s love and care for me, and I wander away from His guidance. It makes for a miserable life.

Remember today to “cast your burden on the Lord, and He will sustain you” (Psalm 55:22).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

