only help my unbelief


How to deal with a weaker brother
May 26, 2008, 5:24 am
Filed under: Posts

This evening*, Pastor Legare gave us 10 principles to go by when dealing with a weaker brother (or sister). The sermon was from Romans 14, and the applicable verses are in parentheses after the principle.

1. Accept the one who is weak in the faith (v. 1).

2. Don’t accept for the purpose of passing judgment on his opinion (v. 1).

3. Recognize the hand of God upon your weaker brother (v. 4).

4. Know why you believe what you believe (v. 5).

5. Live for God’s glory (v. 6).

6. Remember you are not your own (vv. 7-9).

7. Remember that you, too, will be judged (vv. 10-12).

8. Don’t hinder your brother or cause him to sin (vv. 13-16).

9. Let nothing impede the gospel of Christ (v. 17).

10. Pursue peace and mutual edification (vv. 18-23).

These really challenged me as I thought about how often I judge others and how quick I am to let “indifferent matters” get in the way of loving others. I hope these principles encourage you to deal gracefully and lovingly with any “weaker brothers” you encounter this week!

* I freaked my friend Emily out because she’s responsible for the children’s bulletins at my church (but attends a different church), and she thought from my post that the Romans 14 sermon was Sunday morning and she had gotten the bulletins wrong. To her relief, I had typed “morning” when I meant evening.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Karns shares her “take-away” of Romans 14 preaching from her pastor. The audio of his morning and evening can be accessed […]

Pingback by May 28, AD 2008 « GFP Links To Peruse




Leave a Reply

