only help my unbelief


Gnocchi, naps and night shifts
May 24, 2008, 4:16 am
Filed under: Posts

I’ve spent the last couple hours here at the paper working on the look of this new blog. I’m not completely satisfied, as I want to find a different picture for the header, but for the most part, I’m happy. I’m staying here now, for good. If I get the urge to change again, I’m going to bite the bullet and upgrade to where I can change the CSS myself.

So, as you can see, the night shift at The State newspaper isn’t too crazy. I actually worked for almost four straight hours tonight on stories and headlines…

…and that sentence got interrupted when the “slot” tonight told me I could go home. So I did. An hour-and-a-half early. That was a nice surprise, especially since that gives me more time to sleep, which means a much more enjoyable day tomorrow with Christian before work.

My body is having somewhat of a hard time adjusting to this new schedule. This morning I got up after sleeping only six hours so that I could go to the gym. I felt OK, but then I slept for about two-and-a-half hours this afternoon before I went to work. I’m thinking about changing my schedule next week to make things a little better, but I guess these things just take time.

I actually kind of enjoy the night shift, though, because after 9 p.m. or so there isn’t much to do until the paper comes out. Tonight I looked up some new recipes and came across one for ricotta gnocchi. I’ve never had gnocchi before, but I love ricotta cheese and I love pasta-type things, so I’m going to give it a try next time I cook for Christian. I also found some recipes I already have for yummy things like fiesta pasta and tex-mex roll-ups. Once I try out these new recipes, I’ll be sure to post them.

And now, dear friends, time for bed. Goodnight.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You will love gnocchi (the ricotta kind). Be sure to buy the best ricotta you can afford, it’ll make a big difference. It’s like perfect little pillows of cheesy goodness.

Comment by angelanoel

Hubby worked nights for YEARS and loved it. Though, it was easier when he was a college student than now. . . Recently he’s completely changed to a daytime schedule–which was much needed for our family and his health.

Comment by TulipGirl




Leave a Reply

