only help my unbelief


Life without cheese
May 23, 2008, 2:15 am
Filed under: Posts

In an effort to eat healthier foods and lose some weight, I decided to make some changes in how I eat. Most of the changes haven’t affected me much – I’ve grown accustomed to skim milk; I actually like whole-wheat tortillas better; I can’t even tell the different between sugary and sugar-free syrup!

But there’s one change I’ve been holding to for several months now, and I think I’m finally starting to feel the pain. It’s the kind of thing you can try to find substitutes for and never quite succeed.

Cheese.

I come from a family that has always been generous with cheese.

Once, at Christmas, I asked my grandma if I had put too much cheese on her twice-baked potatoes. Her response?

“You can never have too much cheese.”

And so I’ve grown under the auspices of this cheese-loving family, never thinking the addiction would cause me such heartache now.

What I want more than anything is to cut off several pieces of sharp cheddar cheese, and eat them. One after another.

But I’ve stopped buying it, partly because of the price and partly because of the fat content.

And so I here I sit at copy desk on a lonely Thursday night, fantasizing about chicken enchiladas under melted monterey jack cheese… stuffed manicotti oozing ricotta and mozzarella… vegetable quiche covered in cheddar cheese.

If anyone knows of something that can kill the craving for honest-to-goodness cheese, let me know.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

