only help my unbelief


What we give up
May 22, 2008, 7:50 pm
Filed under: Posts

More than a year ago, Christian and I started reading the Bible together. We started reading the Psalms while he was in Germany, then moved on to Proverbs when he got back. Since last fall we’ve been plodding through the minor prophets. We probably should have finished them months ago, but this last semester was so crazy we rarely found time when both of us were free to read together (on the phone) at the same time.

But today I met Christian outside his office building, brown paper bag in hand. We found a little bench outside the exit, and I munched on an apple while he tried to eat chocolate pudding without a spoon. We talked about my second night of work; he told me about his round-about trip to Sonic last night. Once we were done eating, we both pulled out our pocket ESVs and began reading Jonah 2.

The verse that hit me the most was verse 7: “Those who pay regard to vain idols forsake their hope of steadfast love.”

When I think about worshiping idols, my mind quickly goes to the Old Testament, and God’s response to His people’s rebellion. To me, it seems like “paying regard to vain idols” means simply betraying God’s glory and power in my heart. I shouldn’t worship idols because that means I’m not worshiping God.

Those things are true, and really important. But this verse shows another important reason not to worship false idols: we miss out on God’s love.

I need to be reminded of that. When I worship my anxiety, my friends, Christian – not only am I sinning against God, but I’m also separating myself from His abundant love.

I need God’s love. I really do. Especially now, with a haphazard work schedule and little time for intimacy with friends. I need to know that God’s love never fails, and that His mercies are new every morning – and so I shouldn’t even let myself think of putting something in His place.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

