only help my unbelief


Morning by morning
May 21, 2008, 8:21 pm
Filed under: Posts

This week the Bible study I attend is studying Lamentations 3, and it couldn’t have come at a better time. I honestly think that if we weren’t studying it there, I would be studying it on my own, because after only one night of work, I already am realizing that I will have to completely let myself go to God’s new mercies every morning. There simply isn’t any other way to survive.

But you know, you’d think that I would have learned that by now, being 22 years old and having gone through some pretty intense situations. Maybe it’s that I haven’t, and that’s why I’m where I am right now.

My pastor, in a sermon on Job, preached about how God has lessons He wants us to learn, and if we don’t capture them in a certain context, He will keep sending those lessons. I learned that the hard way when I was in the throes of serious anxiety and not trusting the Lord. Now, I think I’ve gotten a slightly better grasp on that concept, but after my first night at work, God has already revealed many of my weaknesses.

My biggest weakness – sin – is that I don’t trust God. I don’t trust that He knows what I am going through; I don’t trust that He will provide grace for tomorrow; I don’t trust that He holds the future in His hands.

But then I read His Word, and I see how He loved the people of Israel, even after they had failed Him so many times.

Lord, I believe; only help my unbelief!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

