only help my unbelief


The long defeat
May 20, 2008, 6:01 pm
Filed under: Posts

We walk a while, we sit and rest, we lay it on the altar;
I won’t pretend to know what’s next, but what I have I’ve offered
– Sara Groves, ‘The Long Defeat’

Day two of posting. Whew. I think I’m not going to keep track of it, because it’s too much pressure. So far, I seem to have a fair amount of time, even having taken a two-hour nap this morning after a sleepless night from a party outside and a wicked bass player downstairs.

What I’m finding is that being more like Jesus means slowly but surely letting my self be defeated in the all-encompassing love of Christ. Being out of college is surreal right now, because it doesn’t seem like I have a place to rest myself. But I think my feeling that means I haven’t been resting myself in Christ in the past.

My new job starts in about 3 hours, and I’m getting nervous. Five nights a week, being up later than I’m used to, and yet trying to strengthen relationships and commit myself to prayer and the Word. I’m not sure how it’s going to go yet, but I’ll keep you updated.

surefooted

Flickr photo ‘surefooted’ by ninjapoodles.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

